Acronis Scheduler2 and Norton 2009 incompatible?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by grazza, Mar 31, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. grazza

    grazza Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    I have been happily running Norton antivirus 2008 together with Acronis TI Home 2009 on Windows XP home edition, but after upgrading to Norton internet security 2009, my system has gone into meltdown! (CPU usage 100%)
    I seem to have isolated the problem to Acronis Scheduler2 and when I disable this service things go back to normal again.
    Anyone else with similar problem or any suggestions other than ditching Norton?
    Thanks.
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello grazza,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    Could you please explain in some words when exactly the system freezes? What do you try to perform? Also, what is the build number of Acronis True Image Home 2009? You can check it navigating mouse cursor to upper line of the program then press ALT + left mouse button -> Help -> About

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  3. Ade 1

    Ade 1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    In The Bath
    I've had no probs running TIH2009 and NIS2009 so not quite sure what your problem is.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello grazza,

    Thank you for your interesting in Acronis True Image

    We can check whether Acronis drivers interfere with Norton internet security 2009 if you send us the following diagnostic information:

    - Download and unpack the Device Tree application:
    http://download.acronis.com/support/devicetree.zip

    - Run the application;
    - Completely unfold the \Driver\Disk and \Driver\FtDisk branches;
    - Move the margin to the right in order to see all the items;
    - Make a screen shot and send it to us.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
  5. grazza

    grazza Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks for your replies.
    My Version is 9,709 (i.e. the latest update)
    The data from DeviceTree is attached.

    I am not sure why, but after deleting my existing backup and validation schedules from ACI2009 and restarting Scheduler2, things started working again!
    I am in the process of reconfiguring and running new backup tasks, and so far so good....
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello grazza,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    Could you please let us know the exact moment when the system freezes?

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  7. grazza

    grazza Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    The system froze as soon as I installed Norton Internet Security 2009. It appears my Acronis backup schedules have become corrupted. To resolve the issue I first stopped the Schedule2 process which was clogging up my CPU. The problem returned if I restarted Schedule2. Then I looked at my backup schedules and found that there was a problem - could not edit them due to a username/password violation. I then deleted my backup schedules and then on restarting Schedule2, the system was working again. I have reconfigured my backup schedules and everything is working, so far...
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello grazza,

    Thank you for your feedback. We are really glad to hear that you have found the solution.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.