Acronis Recovery took 11 hours?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jreach, Apr 26, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jreach

    jreach Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    Ok,

    We are new to using Acronis but have purchased it for all our servers and our two IT laptops as we are constantly messing around with them.

    I had to do a restore yesterday as I installed a program that hosed up windows pretty good. I inserted the acronis boot disk and began the recovery at 4:30pm. At 3:30am the following day it was finished.

    Now, what confuses me is that it only takes roughly 20 minutes to do a FULL non incremental backup (roughly 40gb of data) and only about 5 to do the incremental.

    Taking 11 hours to recover is not going to work for us.

    Now, I was not using the secure zone as I had a problem with it on this computer. Its a vista Alienware laptop with dual harddrives in a raid configuration. For some reason after installing the secure zone it would take roughly 10 minutes to boot up (this is a dual core laptop with 2gb or ram), then one day it wouldn't boot. I got no OS, no BIOS nothing. So I used alienwares recovery disks rebuilt the machine did not install the secure zone but did reinstall acronis TI and all was good. I know two seperate issues, but figured more info was better than none.

    Using Acronis Workstation 9.1
    Machine Spec's are as follows:
    II. Configuration


    Processor(s)

    Processor 1
    Name: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU T7600 @ 2.33GHz
    Manufacturer: GenuineIntel
    Caption: x64 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 6
    Version: Model 15, Stepping 6
    Current Clock Speed: 2667MHz
    Address Width: 32Bits
    Data Width: 64Bits
    Socket Designation: U2E1
    Verified Hardware Device against Order: CPU-2.33C2DT7600G
    Verify Correct Processor Frequency

    System Memory

    Memory Module 1
    Capacity: 1024MB
    Bank Label: DIMM #1
    Mem_Type: DDR2
    Mem_Frequency: 332.5 MHz
    Verified Hardware Device against Order: MEM-MOBLDDR21GBP53SM
    Verify Correct Memory Type
    Verify Correct Memory Size
    Memory Module 2
    Capacity: 1024MB
    Bank Label: DIMM #2
    Mem_Type: DDR2
    Mem_Frequency: 332.5 MHz


    BIOS Information

    Manufacturer: ALIENWARE
    Name: Ver 1.00PARTTBL
    Version: 1.19
    Version: ALWARE - 6040000

    Motherboard Information

    Manufacturer: ALIENWARE
    Product: M5700I-R2
    Serial Number: Not Applicable
    Version: Not Applicable
    Power settings optimized

    Video Adapter

    Caption: ATI Mobility Radeon X1800
    Adapter RAM: 256MB
    DriverVersion: 6.0.5600.16384


    Hard Drive(s)

    VIA 6421 RAID 0 SCSI Disk Device
    Model: VIA 6421 RAID 0 SCSI Disk Device
    Size: 200GB
    Total Heads: 255
    Total Cylinders: 24322
    Total Tracks: 6202110
    Tracks Per Cylinder: 255

    Optical Drives / Other Storage

    Optiarc DVD RW AD-5540A ATA Device

    Operating System: MS Vista Ultimate


    DirectX Version: 10

    So my questions are this:

    1. Why did it take so long to recover 44gb of data?
    2. What can I do to dramatically improve this performance? Is BartPE the only option?
    3. Can secure zone run on Vista with Raid Drives? Was it just a weird fluke problem I had or is it a known issue with Acronis?

    Thanks in advance,
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2007
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Maybe I missed it in your list, but what version and build of True Image are you using? And where is the backup Image stored?
     
  3. jreach

    jreach Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    Workstation 9.1 Build 3887
     
  4. beckygb

    beckygb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Posts:
    103
    What you need is BartPE with the TI BartPE files. See Beginners Guide To BartPE, that will give you step by step instructions to do create it.
     
  5. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    I agree that BartPE with the proper drivers is likely to correct the problem. But I disagree that is the best (long-term) solution. What is needed is an offical support ticket logged with Acronis so the problem can be addressed within the recovery environment so the product works as advertized.
     
  6. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    It would also help to know where the backup Images are stored.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.