Acronis reading error

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by petit_suisse, May 26, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. petit_suisse

    petit_suisse Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Hello,

    When I try to execute a backup (an image) of the C&D partitions of my PC, then I get error messages that Acronis is not able to read some sectors of my hard disk.
    The check of my hard disk with ChDsk doesn't show any errors.

    The backup has worked once but since then, I have always error messages.

    I use Acronis True Image 11.0 with Windows XP SP3.

    Thanks in advance for your feedback

    Regards
     
  2. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    Did you try "chkdsk x: /f" or "chkdsk x: /r"?
    ("x" is your drive letter)
     
  3. snifferpro

    snifferpro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    116
    Location:
    PA
    If you know the manufacturer of your disk drives (maxtor, Western digital, seagate) go to their website and download their free drive diagnostics programs and test with them.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    petit_suisse,

    If check disk utility doesn't help, please install SnapAPI update file available here, reboot the computer to complete the changes and see if the issue remains.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  5. petit_suisse

    petit_suisse Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    I have executed chkdsk /r on the both partitions that made issues without finding any errors.

    My hard disk is an Hitachi and I have downloaded a diagnostic tool on the hitachi web site. It fund some errors but was not able to repair the failed sectors. There was the option erase all on the failed hard drive but I'm not willing to reinstall Windows.

    I have applied the SnapApi update but it did not help.

    Please let me know how I can solve the issue.

    Regards
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello petit_suisse,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    Please download Acronis Report utility available here and run it, create a report and attach to your post.

    This would provide us with detailed information on the hard disk partition structure.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.