acronis notifications?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by savagcl, Aug 27, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. savagcl

    savagcl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Posts:
    161
    How does acronis notify its users of new, updated releases?

    I ask because i'm waiting for the release of TI that is capable of handling
    64-bit addressing (understand its "sometime" this fall) and i'm currently operating
    without a backup.

    Thank you,
    savagcl
     
  2. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, savagcl

    Sorry I can not answer that for you.

    You can use your x32 BootCD [if you made one] to create Image of your x64.

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello savagcl,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    In your account at our site you may check the "Notify me about upgrades for my products" box. This will allow us to send you a message when the new version of Acronis True Image is realeased.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  4. dld

    dld Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    480
    FYI, that's under My Account\Subscriptions
     
  5. savagcl

    savagcl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Posts:
    161
    Thank you, Acronis....

    TheQuest - no i cant. It gives an error msg about not being able to handle
    64-bit addressing.

    savagcl
     
  6. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, savagcl

    Very Strange, what Motherboard are you using.

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  7. savagcl

    savagcl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Posts:
    161
    Gateway 9310s system.
    Intel Motherboard: D915GSN: BTX Form Factor

    Acronis TI version 7.0

    thanks
    savagcl
     
  8. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, savagc

    Tried to fine a PDF for your BIOS settings but searched invain. :(

    I sure it is a simple setting that stopping the BootCD from backing Up your x64.

    Is there any chance of a setting in the BIOS stopping x32bit software writing to the HDD, I read some where there is a setting on some MB's, I think it was a Asus A8V BIOS that had a setting, if one MB does it so may others. [I have a Asus A8N-E which is a 939pin x64 but it does not have the setting]

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  9. rjbsec

    rjbsec Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Posts:
    132
    Hmm I have that checked for my products but don't get update notification ... and yes my email address is correct!
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello rjbsec,

    Please make sure that you have checked the "Notify me about critical updates for my registered products" option, but not the "Notify me about upgrades for my products" option.

    The point is that there is a difference between the upgrade and update.

    Update is free and available for every registered Acronis customer at the Updates page, while upgrade is a special version that upgrades the older version to the newer one. Upgrades can be purchased at the Acronis online store.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  11. savagcl

    savagcl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Posts:
    161
    TheQuest,

    I have no such setting in my BIOS.
    Intel BIOS's dont have a lot of settings anyway.

    thanks for the interest,
    savagcl
     
  12. rjbsec

    rjbsec Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Posts:
    132
    Thank you, I do have them checked as shown in the screen capture - is there a problem with the way I have checked them?
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello rjbsec,

    This topic has come up a few times before. Acronis Support stated at the time that not all updates are considered to be "critical". Hence you wouldn't receive a notification for routine updates. They also stated that they are planning to change the system so that notifications were sent out for all updates. The actual statement is contained in this thread titled <Re: New Build - No E-Mail>.

    Regards
     
  14. rjbsec

    rjbsec Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Posts:
    132
    Thanks, I thought I was getting forgotten :D
     
  15. nilesf

    nilesf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    McAfee is bocking e-mail notifications on port 25. What process should be excluded?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.