ACRONIS ERROR MESSAGE E0004000B

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by MISS CHIEVOUS, Nov 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MISS CHIEVOUS

    MISS CHIEVOUS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Posts:
    11
    Hello, I posted a screenshot of this error message here:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=1117791

    This software managed to create two DVD coasters off of my NEC DVD drive using TDK +R media before I finally determined that ACRONIS just won't burn directly to DVD beyond the first blank media.

    I realize I can split & burn my drive images to hard disk . . . and then burn them to DVD; but I don't have time for that. And why should I have to? This product can either image a drive directly to CD/DVD or it can't. I even gave it High Priority, and ran nothing else while it executed.

    Even less impressive was a search for this Error Message on the ACRONIS website: Nothing.

    Nothing in the FAQ.
    Nothing in the KB.

    This ACRONIS utility basically (with some grief, alternately finding my media and not finding it) managed to burn the first DVD . . . and then after inserting the next blank media, crashes with this error message. I'm hesitant to use the software and waste yet another perfectly good, brand new, write-once DVD +R.

    Was this software bundled with Seagate as a Lite version that just can't handle optical media?

    MC
     
  2. nb47

    nb47 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Posts:
    183
    Actully , the best way to use it is to back up to an external HD + 'restore' from it is a lot faster. Try dvd/RW instead-at least you can 'erase ' them if it doesn't work but even a flash drive is better than disks in my opinion-just backed up a HD copy to a flash drive too ; you can get them up to 16Gigs now at Staples. Good luck!

    d
     
  3. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Does this mean that your copy was bundled with your computer or external drive?

    First = have you got the split image option ticked? - you'll need this for DVD burning, even for direct to DVD imaging.

    Second = double check that you don't have something like InCD or equivalent running in the background - this normally causes a problem in trying to make a rescue CD, but it is possible for it to cause problems on a DVD burn.

    Third - Are you making full disk images or individual partitions and what size is the drive?

    If you are making full disk, I suggest temporarily making a single partition image, if you have a partition that is roughly DVD size and also make it on a rewritable DVD whilst sorting the problem out.

    What is the less than helpful text attached to that message in the log file?

    Colin
     
  4. MISS CHIEVOUS

    MISS CHIEVOUS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Posts:
    11
    Yes. This is the 2007 ACRONIS software that comes bundled with Seagate.
    There is no option for splitting the file because the software claims to be able to do so for you. Believe me, I explored the advanced features (limited though they were). From the Seagate/ACRONIS User Guide:

    5.2.3 ARCHIVE-SPLITTING
    The preset is Automatic. With this setting, Seagate DiscWizard will act as follows.
    (skipping over option for hard-drive save)
    When backing up to a diskette, CD-R/RW or DVD+R/RW: Seagate DiscWizard will ask you to insert a new disc when the previous one is full.

    Again, there is no setting for file splitting with this bundled utility. And I am specifically looking for utilities that will burn the disk image directly to the DVD in one step — if I wanted to spend twice as much time as I already do backing up, the two-step method is of course available. I hoped after trying this software that I might find something less resource-intensive than Ghost. As with all Symantec products, even their most modest option for CPU drain brings my computer to a staggering halt.
    Hmm. Well, let's review:
    Self-Powered USB 7-Port Hub
    SCSI Scanner Driver (loaded, but neither scanner nor scan programs were running)
    PS2 Mouse Driver
    AGP Video Driver
    AVG Free Anti Virus
    Spybot
    Acrobat Professional 7 Distiller (ever present, it runs in the background)

    The only other thing present in the background is a scheduled DAILY Windows 2000 (OS utility) backup of the System State and entire C Partition for 3:00 PM to (the second of two) 500 GB Seagate PATA drives. The two ACRONIS attempts to disk image to DVD+ media were done at 8:00 a.m. this morning. No other programs were open. What you see listed above was running in the background.

    But it wouldn't be the first time a program didn't want to make nice with everyone else, eh?
    This is a 30 GB __C__ partition with effectively 8 GB's of archivable data . . . on a 500 GB Seagate Barracuda PATA (Primary Slave) drive. At this point I'll be thrilled just to get a backup of this one partition (I have 25 ;)).
     
  5. MISS CHIEVOUS

    MISS CHIEVOUS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Posts:
    11
    And finally, the log. I tried to get this to format inside VBulletin but it can't handle XML so I'm afraid this is a bit cluttered. Thank you Colin, and anyone else willing to help.

    Miss Chievous
    Looks like a couple of smileys snuck in there lol. :D

     
  6. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    the hub might give you a different problem- on restore FYI or it might not.

    I'm not familiar with the differences between bundled versions and retail versions if any.

    It might be worth downloading the latest Acronis drivers and see if they solve the problem.

    I think there is a link at the top of the forum page under the before you post bit.

    Is the DVD drive on the IDE bus or an external one?

    It might be worth temporarily stopping and unloading SCSI driver - even though the scanner isn't attached - hard drives at a low level still use SCSI commands - it is possible that it is causing the problem - I'd try this first before installing any new Acronis drivers.

    Unplug the hub if you can - this can be a problem on restore if an external drive is connected via it - but if you can get a DVD image, then plug the hub back in - if the problem re-occurs we know it's the hub, if it doesn't then it's the SCSI driver.

    Colin
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello MISS CHIEVOUS,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    It's possible that for some reason Windows is unable to read the format DVDs are written in. From the log it seems likely that the failure occured not when writing file, but when trying to read it (for validation). Please try accessing the created DVDs, there should be a single .tib file on them. Please also try accessing them on a different computer.

    If the issue persists, please contact the vendor from which the software was received.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  8. MISS CHIEVOUS

    MISS CHIEVOUS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Posts:
    11
    If you will observe the title of this thread it reads "ACRONIS ERROR MESSAGE." Not SEAGATE error message. Not WINDOWS error message. Not BIOS error message.

    This is your product Sir, however inconvenient that may be. This being your product, I'll remind you that a numbered error message doesn't come from nowhere. Your software engineers coded that numbered error message into the software for the express purpose of anticipating (some) event that would cause the software not to work. If you'll observe the screenshot I took, it becomes immediately apparent that this cannot have been a Windows-generated event for the simple reason that the only thing that can give that error box an XP look in a Windows 2000 theatre (the operating system I presently use) is a program designed to give the look and feel of an XP environment.

    Seagate did not code this software.
    Microsoft did not code this software.
    ACRONIS coded this software.

    ACRONIS alone has the capacity to decode what E0004000B is in reference to. If your response to an ACRONIS-generated error message is to grudge the public access to what it is in reference to, I can't for the life of me imagine why anyone would wish to purchase product from you! No one is asking you to provide unlimited support for a product that comes to the user free — just publish the list of your ACRONIS error messages somewhere on the web so that people can access it. Any company hoping to promote its product line won't endear consumers by withholding data related to Troubleshooting issues that arise from using any of its products — commercial or free.

    So far I've asked what I think are two reasonable and very specific questions:
    1. Is the ACRONIS utility that comes bundled with Seagate drives a "LITE" version? (meaning that some features are missing from the commercially-equivalent product)
    2. What does ACRONIS ERROR MESSAGE E0004000B refer to?

    Your company should provide this data at a minimum. It should be resident in your Knowledgebase, and a link to the Knowledge base — listing every ACRONIS error message — should be provided in your FAQ.

    I've wasted a number of days trying to get this product to work (including calling Seagate directly) and finally managed to locate the conflict on my own. I suggest you begin acting responsibly and publish the data requested, above. The first question I am appalled to even have to ask: The answer is either YES or NO; it perhaps never dawned on your marketing department that consumers might be interested in knowing those additional features available to them in the commercial version of what they are now using, free, bundled with their new Seagate drive. If you have a whit's worth of marketing savvy you'll get about the business of publishing this in a chart.

    I know what the solution is and I'll be happy to confirm it in this thread once your website demonstrates some responsibility and publishes Troubleshooting methods for error messages that only ACRONIS can interpret.

    MISS CHIEVOUS
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello MISS CHIEVOUS,
    Seagate DiskWizard is a program based on Acronis True Image with somewhat different set of functions. The exact changes are defined on agreement with the intended vendor of software (in this case, Seagate Technology) and are proprietary information. The software is distributed by the intended vendor and all technical support is also provided by vendor. Such is the company policy.
    The error message E0004000B refers to the program being unable to read from CD/DVD drive. The exact reasons for occurance of that error may differ and ofter require thorough investigation.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  10. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    MISS CHIEVOUS,
    I'm glad you found your solution. I thought you might be interested in this slight follow-up.

    Regarding attachments:
    Your first posting included a link to your original attachment stored in the Image Gallery--which was perfectly acceptable. You can, however, display this image (rather than a link) inside your first posting--should you have a preference. Right click on your original attachment image posted in the Image Gallery. Click Properties and the the specific URL associated with your attachment will be displayed for a copy/paste function which is:which after posting is parsed to
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=195126&stc=1&d=1195146033

    This attachment ID link provides two options:
    1. Post the attachment ID inside a [noparse] attachmentID [/noparse] tag so it will be auto displayed whenever anyone clicks on the attachmentID link. Or,

    2. Place the attachmentID between an [noparse]http://attachmentID[/noparse] tag so the attachment will be auto displayed as in your first posting above:
    [noparse][​IMG][/noparse]​

    Either use makes it unnecessary for the viewer to visit the Image Gallery posting to see your original error message illustration.

    This procedure allows any attachment to be displayed in other postings providing the original attachment image is stored within the Wilders forum.

    Sometimes when you have a lot of text to display, it helps to additionally upload it as an text file attachment for viewer downloading & later viewing.

    All of the above is offered as an FYI since you are new to this particular forum. Should you already be aware of the above, my sincere apologies for wasting your time.

    Seagate version of Acronis True Image Home:
    Yes, this special OEM version has reduced options. This link by Mustang lists function differences.

    Yes, you can create images and restore them from the Rescue CD.
    Yes, it is quite good for being a free software. It's primary function (this version) is to enable you to create and restore full backups without a lot of the troublesome frills.
    Yes, I (personally)would recommend buying (True Image Home v11) the paid version--although it has its own problems--most backup programs do...You can also test a trial version for 15 days. I have owned v8,9, 10 plus earlier versions of Ghost and DriveImage 7.

    Whether this version will successfully burn to CD/DVD depends upon the specific hardware combination in your computer. Burning direct works easily for some while others find a great deal of problems getting it to work. Another drive (internal or external) is much more problem free for storing full backup archive sets.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.