Acronis does not see my HDD

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by yalgaar, Feb 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. yalgaar

    yalgaar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    I just purchased a brand new Dell Laptop Inspiron 1501. I have a Acronis CD that I normally use to boot from and then backup the image of any compter into a USB drive or on a share on the network.

    But for some reason, It does not see my HDD.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    Are you using the latest version and build of True Image?
    TI doesn't see your laptop drive or the usb drive?
     
  3. yalgaar

    yalgaar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    It does not see my laptop Hard Drive. I am using 9.1
     
  4. yalgaar

    yalgaar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    I am attaching my device manager for more details on my IDE controller and the drive type details.

    Please help
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    Weird ... to say the least. :D Is the laptop running XP or Vista? Can you get ahold of a Linux Live cd or a BartPE cd, boot with it and see if it sees your hard drive?
     
  6. yalgaar

    yalgaar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Laptop came with Vista, but it is currently running XP.

    There are too many threads here on Bart CD. I am really confused. What exactly I need to do? What is a Linux CD?
     
  7. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    Definitely a weird situation. Your laptop's drive is obviously okay otherwise the laptop wouldn't run. A BartPE cd is a good item to have, no matter what. It is a bootable cd which boots into a Windows gui. Google for it and how to make one.
    Linux is an operating system that many use instead of Windows. It comes in many flavors and some of them come on a CD that lets you test it without having to instal it - that's a live cd.
     
  8. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Until you resolve your problems, don't let that keep you from doing your backups.

    Start TI from your start menu and then create your backup onto your system drive c. TI will allow this. Then, copy/move the backup from Drive C onto your external drive. Validate the backup in both places. After successful validation, then delete the backup files on Drive C.

    Your bootable Rescue CD has linux drivers. It is linux that's not see your system drive. From the bootable Rescue CD, did you boot using the Full mode option?

    Link to creating a bootable rescue CD.
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=187391&d=1170473841
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2007
  9. adidas

    adidas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    I am having the same problem with this laptop hopefully someone has a fix.
     
  10. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
  11. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.