Acronis Disk Director Suite alternative

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by rendez2k, Jan 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rendez2k

    rendez2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Posts:
    315
    Location:
    UK
    Whats the best alternative Acronis Disk Director Suite these days? I had to remove snapman.sys to get ShadowProtect to work and so ADD no longer works....
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    I use Paragon Hard Disk Manager but if you just need the partitioning tools, get Paragon Partition Manager.
     
  3. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    I use DD but I run it from the boot disk you can create from inside of it. I made a ShadowProtect image (I make mine from the SP restore environment CD), loaded DD, made the boot disk, tested it and then restored back from the image I made before DD. (Actually, both SP and DD are not installed on my PC. I don't like anything more on my PC than what I have to have... ;) )
     
  4. rendez2k

    rendez2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Posts:
    315
    Location:
    UK
    WSFuser: Is the basic 2008 Suite you use or the pro version?

    HAN: Thats a good idea as I've already made my boot disc. I wasn't sure if it needed DD installed on the machine to use it.
     
  5. Huupi

    Huupi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    2,024
    Here me too,imaging from recovery environment with SP is fast enough. Afterall its a tool for restore what's needed once in a while,perhaps you never need to restore but its a comforting thought that if ever bad strike you,you can revert.
     
  6. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    2008 Suite.
     
  7. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, it runs just peachy from the boot disk. IMO, it could possibly run better than a normal installation as nothing else is running in the background with it...
     
  8. rendez2k

    rendez2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Posts:
    315
    Location:
    UK
    Just booted into the Shadow Protect CD and it appears it has a basic partition manger built in?
     
  9. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    Pete can answer better than me but I think the partitioning tools in SP are not full fledged tools. I'm thinking they are too basic for what many of us might want/need...
     
  10. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,054
    It does have a partition editor built in, but unless you know what you are doing, leave it alone.

    What I did to solve the problem, is imaged my system, installed Acronis Disk Director, incorporated DD10 into my Bartpe disk, and restored my image - defacto uninstall of DD. Now when I occasionally need it I run it from Bart. Works great that way, and no conflicts.

    Pete
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.