Acronis Disc Setup Disappears

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by S?ul, Apr 15, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. S?ul

S?ul Registered Member

- Acronis True Image 8.0 Trial - Build 826 - WinXP Home -​

Hi All,

I'm a novice computer user and have never tried to do a backup before so take it easy on me. :oops:

I need to know if it's normal for my Acronis disc setup to disappear everytime I shut down or reboot my PC. I run two hard drives; Main Disk C & Slave Disc X. I created a copy of C as Drive F. It's Drive F that disappears.

I can explain it better with pictures, so here's a couple of screenshots...
    http://premium1.uploadit.org/SoulShark//ComputerManagement.JPG
    http://premium1.uploadit.org/SoulShark//AcronicDiscF.JPG
    Drive F always vanishes into never never land when I log back on.

Sooooo...Is this normal? Am I doing something wrong? Is it just because I'm using the trial version? o_O

Thanks for helping a newb in need,
    Søul

2. jmk94903

jmk94903 Registered Member

Watch out. We are friendly and try to help which makes us dangerous. :)
    I'm not sure how you created the F drive. Did you use the Explore feature in TrueImage to create this drive from your image?

If so, this drive will always disappear when you reboot. It's not a real drive, it's a virtual drive created by TrueImage so that you can copy data from an image when you don't want to restore the entire image. You can't save any new information to this virtual drive since it's just a way of looking at the image.

If I missed what you have done, please correct me.

3. S?ul

S?ul Registered Member

Thanks for being nice and not throwing a lot of tech terms at me. They tend to go "WOOOSH!" over my head. lol

The drive was created by using the Explore feature. I just needed to make sure that the program was working properly. I couldn't find any info in the help file so I had to bug you guys. :)