Acronis Bootable Rescue CD

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by The Sand, Aug 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. The Sand

    The Sand Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Posts:
    218
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    I bought MY TI 10 from Best Buy so I physically have the Acronis manufactured cd. Recently I updated to the latest build... my question is since I updated do I need to make another copy of the Rescue CD... or should I still rely on the one I purchased from Best Buy.

    Thanks,
    Sandy
     
  2. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Absolutely make a new recovery CD. It's the best investment of ten cents that you could make.

    Always make a new recovery CD when you install a new build of TI.
     
  3. random110

    random110 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Posts:
    73
    You should absolutely make a new copy of the Rescue Media from your new build. :D

    edit: Beaten to it!
     
  4. The Sand

    The Sand Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Posts:
    218
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Thanks you guys - will do. I always like to purchase the cd for things in case there is a problem later - Like Norton 360... I didn't download it - I bought that so I would physically have the cd. Acronis is a case where that really isn't going to be helpful.

    Thanks again...

    Sandy
     
  5. dbknox

    dbknox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Posts:
    511
    Location:
    Canada
    Also if you haven't already done so, I would also burn a copy of the new build of true image to have on hand.
     
  6. The Sand

    The Sand Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Posts:
    218
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Sorry if this sounds stupid but I thought that was what the "Bootable rescue cd" was... that it is the Acronis program on CD so you can use that to boot with if you can't start up your computer. Am I wrongo_O

    Thanks,
    Sandy
     
  7. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Yes you are correct about the usage of the CD. Whenever you install an updated build of TI you need to make a new rescue CD. Updated builds contain bug fixes and new drivers.
     
  8. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    True, but the CD does not do scheduled automatic backups. For that you need the software installed on the computer so you should still burn a copy of the update.
     
  9. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    I make a practice of writing my serial number and the version and build number on each Rescue CD or download. I also retain all versions of any Rescue CD which I created.
     
  10. The Sand

    The Sand Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Posts:
    218
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Writing down your serial number, version and build number on your resue cd is a good idea. Why do you keep the "old" versions thougho_O How come you don't toss them...

    Sandy
     
  11. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Keeping the older builds/versions is a good idea. You never know when you might need it. A newer build may not support your hardware as well or you may have a problem with a "bug" that didn't exist with the older build.

    If you don't want to keep the cds, you can use Acronis Media Builder to create the ISO files for each build and just keep those. That way you don't have to reinstall the older version to create a new cd if you need it later.

    A perfect example of this are the changes made between TI 9 build 3,677 and the final build 3,854. Build 3,677 is the last build that doesn't change the partition table order when partitions are restored to positions other that the one they were imaged from. So, if you want to avoid the "partition table shuffle", restore the partition with build 3,677.
     
  12. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Each new version of True Image has a track record of fixing a few old bugs but creating new ones. Some of the new ones might be something that makes the software not work on your system.

    Once you find a version and build that works for you, stick with it. I'm still using ver. 9 build 3,677.
     
  13. The Sand

    The Sand Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Posts:
    218
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    I'm floored by MudCrab's and DwnNdrty's responses here because my thought process is different. I ALWAYS update and even take it further... I ALWAYS buy whatever company I like "latest and greatest" (I have to trust the company though.) I figure the newest release has to better or why do it. Now I haven't been badly burned until my recent Vista experience... which is what lead me here. Vista is fricken beta (by the way... beta could be my middle name.) But when dealing with "restoring an image" which is HUGE - that thought process may not serve me well... tried, tested and true may win the day here. What I don't get is if you backed up the image using whatever is the latest build - lets say your computer crashes, you try and restgore and it doesn't go well. Can you then use some previous build to restore - when that backup was made with a new buildo_O

    Thanks for the feedback it's been truly enlightening...

    Sandy
     
  14. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Old versions of most software are not usually forward compatible, and in the case of True Image I think you will find this to be the case. The only previous version I kept was ver.8 build 937 and of course I now use 9 build 3667.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.