Acronis boot CD question

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by rbig, Apr 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rbig

    rbig Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Posts:
    96
    Does my boot CD made via Acronis TI give me the capability of restoring to a blank, formatted hard drive (backup image on external USB hard drive) ? Or, do I have to reload Acronis TI and then use the boot CD for minimal Windows control functions?
     
  2. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Yes and it is not necessary to format the drive. The boot CD is actually using Linux not Windows. See this thread https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=157096 for restoring to a replacement drive.
     
  3. rbig

    rbig Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Posts:
    96
    Thanks. Appreciate the info and thread link.

    I further take it that actually it doesn't matter what you have on the hard drive to be restored, as the Acronis boot CD will take care of the restore regardless of the pc hard drive content or lack of.
     
  4. como

    como Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    498
    When you perform a restore TI will format the drive before carrying out the restore function, thus you can restore to a drive straight out of the box or an old drive
     
  5. rbig

    rbig Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Posts:
    96
    Got it. That's good news!
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello rbig,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please notice that during the restore procedure of the drive/partition image the destination drive will be erased. There's no need to perform any specific preparation procedures on it.

    You can find the detailed instructions on the restore operation in chapter "Restoring disks/partitions or files from images" of the respective User's Guide.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  7. rbig

    rbig Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Posts:
    96
    More good info. Thanks.

    What's happened is my pc had a power supply and motherboard failure a week ago. I had just done a routine full hard drive image backup, and do have an Acronis produced boot CD. I used an external USB hard drive for the backups.

    The pc I'll be getting tomorrow is a generic, with two hard drives. I have my backup on the USB external hard drive.

    One hard drive will hopefully have Windows and my data files (the shop is transferring all those to my replacement pc). None of my auxilliary programs will be on the new hard drive, though.

    As soon as I get it home and working, I'll use the boot CD and run a restore from the external USB hard drive to my blank but formatted hard drive in the pc. If all goes well, I'll have the exact setup I had before the failure, along with all the auxilliary programs and data files. Here's hoping......
     
  8. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    If you are restoring a backup of your previous OS to a different MoBo (not sure what you mean by "generic" here) you may run into problems because the drivers could differ. If they do differ but it lets you boot up this is not normally a problem as you can install any conflicting drivers after checking for them in Device Manager. However If driver differences prevents you from booting up you may find things more difficult, although often this scenario can be solved by booting from the OS CD and doing a "R"epair on the installation.

    F.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.