Acronis Backup&Restore v10

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by pearlyshells, Jul 22, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pearlyshells

    pearlyshells Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    I have a dell poweredge, single 32bit processor with 1gb RAM and 500GB mirrored drives. I am about to move to an HP 64bit server with 2 dualcore processors and 4gb RAM. I have Windows 2003 SBS on my server. I want to be able to backup my Dell Server and restore it onto the NEW HP server but wondered if the new v10 product will have any hiccups when I do this. Anyone have experience with this product and backing up/restoring from 32bit to 64bit platforms?
     
  2. Wandering2

    Wandering2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    110
    If you are talking about a data backup, there is no problem. If you mean an operating system image, then you would be putting a 32 bit operating system in place of the new 64 bit, and also replacing all 64 bit drivers with the old 32 bit drivers. Hard to see this leaving you with a functioning machine.

    Good luck.
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello pearlyshells,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Corporate Products

    If you want to transfer the system to a dissimilar hardware, you should use Acronis Backup & Recovery 10 Advanced Server SBS Edition with Acronis Universal Restore

    Acronis Backup & Recovery 10 Advanced Server SBS Edition has a feature such as Acronis Universal Restore (Free Universal Restore is included). Acronis Universal Restore provides an efficient solution for restoration of a hardware-independent system by replacing the crucial HAL and hard disk controller drivers. In the case of motherboard and CPU change the replacement of the crucial HAL is necessary.

    Acronis Universal Restore is an optional program feature.

    Please see the article Transferring Windows to Dissimilar Hardware for more information.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  4. gejfay

    gejfay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Posts:
    35
    Universal Restore is not optional with SBS.
    You said that earlier in the post and then refuted it.

    Universal Restore is included with SBS
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello gejfay,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Products

    Acronis Universal Restore is included in Acronis Backup & Recovery 10 Advanced Server - Small Business Server Edition and Acronis Backup & Recovery 10 Advanced Server - Virtual Edition. No separate license for Acronis Universal Restore is necessary.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
  6. pearlyshells

    pearlyshells Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    thanks very much. I purchased the Advanced SMall Business Edition with Universal Restore and performed the backup. Worked fine. However, I could not find any documentation on the Universal Restore other than for TrueImage for SBS and that does not present the same screenshots as I am seeing for the Boot CD. I performed the backup and restore procedures from the Universal Restore BootCD. When I booted the new Server, it booted to Small Business Server 2003 fine to the login but I discovered that my mouse and keyboard no longer work. I suspect it has to do with the drivers. How do i resolve this?
     
  7. gejfay

    gejfay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Posts:
    35
    Thats a bummer. How can you login without a keyboard?

    Maybe try a USB keyboard as the OS should recognize that without a driver.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.