Acronis and LSI SCSI

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by JonR, Sep 20, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JonR

    JonR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1
    Hello All.


    I have a workstation (Dell Precision WorkStation 360) acting as a server that currently has 2 SCSI drives (36GB) attached to a LSI Logic U320 SCSI PCI card. Each hard disk is setup as its own volume. I've read that Acronis will support SCSI devices. Here's what I'd like to do:

    Image both hard disks to USB2 external drive.
    Install 2 new 73GB drives
    Dump Images onto the new drives and have them expand to fill the entire drive.

    Is this process going to be supported using Acronis Ture Image?

    Thanks,

    JonR
     
  2. 'G'

    'G' Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Posts:
    64
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Well I'm still waiting for LSI support since TI V7.

    If I try and install TI V8 even now I get a BSOD. Only every couple of new TI V8 build releases am I able to use the rescue diskettes to create an image of my system.

    Hopefully TI V9 will be the one for me.

    Case & PSU:
    1. Lian-Li PC-70,
    2. Antec TRUECONTROL 550PGB, Mfr #: 761345-07556-5
    3. 4*Antec case fans 80mm 3 & 4 Pin, Mfr part #: 80MM 3PIN BB FAN
    4. 3*Antec Power Y x2 Cable, Mfr part #: Y CABLES

    Motherboard etc:
    1. Abit AB-IC7-G
    2. Pentium 4 3.2GHz FSB 800MHz Prescott 1MB Cache (Retail)
    3. Zalman Flower CNPS7700-Cu 'Silent' CPU Cooler
    4. Arctic Silver 5 Thermal Compound (3g) (OA-001-AC)
    5. Crucial 512MB (total 2GB), 184-pin DIMM, Mfr #: CT6472Z40B

    Sound:
    1. Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platinum eX (plus external box), Mfr part # 70SB028000004
    2. Creative Inspire 6.1 6700, Mfr part # 51000000AA292

    Graphics:
    1. Gigabyte ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB Ultimate

    Monitor:
    1. Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 930SB, Mfr part #: 60000770

    Internal Devices:
    2. 3*Maxtor Atlas 10K IV 36GB SCSI 8MB cache HDDs, Model #: 8B036L0 (68-pin)
    3. Logic LSI22320-R 64-bit PCI-X Ultra320 SCSI Dual Channel HBA
    4. 4*Maxtor Diamond 10 300GB SATA HDDs
    5. Teac 16xDVD 48xCD Int IDE OEM, Mfr code: DV-516E-002
    6. 2*NEC DVD +/- DVD RW IDE Internal Drive (OEM), Mfr part #: ND-3520A
    7. Teac FDD, Mfr part #: FD-235
    8. 2*Adaptec rounded SCSI cables (terminated, top of their range rounded cables)
    9. 2*Akasa braided rounded IDE cables
    10. 1 Akasa braided floppy IDE cable

    Peripherals:
    1. Logitech Internet Navigator, Mfr code: 967233-0120
    2. Logitech MX1000
    3. Canon iP5000
    4. Canon 3200 Scanner

    Networking:
    1. SpeedTouch 580 ADSL Wireless Multi-User Gateway
    2. SpeedTouch 120G Wireless USB Adapter

    Already Have:
    1. HP 6L (7 years old and still going strong)
    2. Powerware 5125 (new and free :))
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello JonR and 'G',

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    If you use a server version of Windows then please download and install the free trial version of Acronis True Image Server 8.0 for Windows or the free trial version of Acronis True Image Enterprise Server 8.0 to see how the software works on your particular hardware configuration.

    If you use one of the non-server versions of Windows then please download and install the free trial version of Acronis True Image 9.0 in order to see how the software works on your PC.

    Create an image using one of the afore mentioned trial versions saving it to the external USB hard drive, install new drives, boot your PC from the special Bootable Rescue CD and see how the software recognizes your new hard drives. In case everything works fine, proceed with the image restoration resizing the partitions as it is described in the respective User's Guide.

    If you will be satisfied with the work of the trial version of the software then please visit Acronis online store to purchase the full version of the product.

    Please also note that we have a flexible system of discounts and the amount of the discount varies depending on the number of copies you want to purchase.

    In case you are planning to purchase many copies, please contact our Sales Team at sales@acronis.com.

    Please let me know if you will face any problems trying to use the suggested demo-versions.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  4. Harry B.

    Harry B. Guest

    I don't have LSI U320 SCSI ...
    but here is a method that might work for you.

    1. download TI8 BartPE plugin from Acronis
    2. download UBCD4Win (and the drivers set v1.6 or later) from here.
    http://www.ubcd4win.com/
    3. add TI8 plugin to UBCD4Win
    4. create a bootable UBCD4Win CD with TI8 plugin added
    5. launch TI8 within this bootable CD, and do your backup/restore.
    N.B. According to the follwing URL, LSI Logic U320 SCSI PCI is
    supported in UBC4Win drivers set v1.6:
    http://www.ubcd4win.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=1374

    Hope this help.
     
  5. 'G'

    'G' Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Posts:
    64
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I do not see why I should have to purchase TI V9 since V7 and V8 have never worked.

    For this reason I tested V9 and impressed upon support to furnish me a free license of TI and they did.

    This was given and from now on I will purchase the updates.

    Now all I want is a fixed is Director V9.

    Surely if the driver database is more extensive for V9 than V8, you can transfer V9's driver database over to V8.

    I will not be manipulated into purchasing software updates to software I paid for in order for it to work.

    You should make it your policy to ensure that your customers are looked after as they will look after you.

    JonR, press for a free TI V9 license code.
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello 'G',

    Could you please let me know if you have any problems with Acronis Software now? Also please let me know your Acronis request # which was sent to you in autoreply to your letter to Acronis Support Team.

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.