Acronis and defragging?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by MarieBoyer, Sep 19, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MarieBoyer

MarieBoyer Registered Member

o_O I read in a reputable computer magazine that one should be careful with Acronis (and disk imaging products) if you defrag your hard drive. While I am a newbie, the gist I got was that the image changes with defragging so that disk imaging may be a problematic way to backup your hard drive. Does this make sense?

p.s. I am contemplating buying Acronis from everything I have read. But, based on this forum, I am waiting for the newest version of Acronis before I purchase it. o_O

Thanks for any advice.

2. rdgrimes

rdgrimes Registered Member

Consider searching this forum for "defrag".

There's no problem, although it's really not necessary to defrag image files. It also helps to use a dedicated defrag utility like Diskeeper.

3. MarieBoyer

MarieBoyer Registered Member

Thanks for your advice. I will do a search.

I think the gist of the article was not that you might defrag the image file but defrag your drive after you create the image file, and then try to create an image file thereafter. o_O

4. pjb024

pjb024 Registered Member