Acronis Agent on Ubuntu?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by KraetziChriZ, Feb 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. KraetziChriZ

    KraetziChriZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Hi,

    I just got some TrueImage Enterprise Echo Server for Linux Liceneses.

    I installed an Agent on a Debian Box, works fine.

    I also have some Ubuntu boxes, which should manually backuped by the Agent for Linux, but when I want to connect with the Management Console, I have no rights to "scan the harddisk".

    The Problem could be "sudo" - are there any solutions?

    I found nothing in the Acronis Knowledge Base :(

    This sucks, because Ubuntu is under the supported linux distributions of acronis enterprise echo server.

    regards
    chris
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
  3. KraetziChriZ

    KraetziChriZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Hello,

    no, this did not help.

    I'm using the latest Build of Acronis True Image Echo Enterprise Server.
    I extracted the Agent for Linux.
    As I told, it runs on my debian box fine, and is still backuping every day my root-partition :)

    On my Ubuntu Workstation I want also daily backup. The SNAPI Modules did compile fine and I can start the agent with "sudo", but if I connect with my "username" and "password" for my "user account" with the Management console, I get the error message, that I have no rights to access my disk.
    I can connect, but do not backups :(
    Looks like a problem with sudo. Couldn't find any solution. Your linked thread did not help. I do NOT want to set up my Ubuntu with a single account for "root", I definetly want use sudo!

    regards
    chris
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello KraetziChriZ,

    Please notice that in order to back up using Acronis Linux Agent you need to connect to the computer using root credentials.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  5. FlopHead

    FlopHead Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    You can create root password using "sudo passwd" command. There is no password for root by default so you can just type new one. After that you should be able to connect to Agent using root account.
     
  6. KraetziChriZ

    KraetziChriZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    I do NOT want a seperate Root Account. I know this solution, but then I can not use sudo, but I want use sudo on my workstation.

    Aren't there any other solutions?

    regards
    chris
     
  7. FlopHead

    FlopHead Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Well, I have a password for my root account on my workstation and also can use sudo (Ubuntu 7.10). I assume you should be in admin group in order to be able to use sudo:

    $ sudo cat /etc/sudoers
    [sudo] password for den:
    # /etc/sudoers
    #
    # This file MUST be edited with the 'visudo' command as root.
    #
    # See the man page for details on how to write a sudoers file.
    # Defaults

    Defaults !lecture,tty_tickets,!fqdn

    # Uncomment to allow members of group sudo to not need a password
    # %sudo ALL=NOPASSWD: ALL

    # Host alias specification

    # User alias specification

    # Cmnd alias specification

    # User privilege specification
    root ALL=(ALL) ALL
    # Members of the admin group may gain root privileges
    %admin ALL=(ALL) ALL

    -------------

    $ grep admin /etc/group
    lpadmin:x:109:
    admin:x:110:den
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.