Acronis 2009 and System Restore

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by yontev, Jul 23, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. yontev

    yontev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Posts:
    57
    I recently did a restore from my Acronis image to my system running Windows XP Pro. I then tried to do a Windows System Restore. All the restore points were there, but it wouldn't restore. I noticed in the fixes for Acronis 2009 that one could now access restore points after restoration of Acronis image. The image I have is made up of incremental images, but I believe the original may have been made from an earlier version of Acronis. Could this be the problem?
     
  2. Wandering2

    Wandering2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    110
    I don't have a clean answer for you, but I would never mix versions within a backup set. Basing incrementals on a full backup made by another version may be possible, but there is so much opportunity for things to go wrong, that I'd never encourage anyone to do that.

    That said, if it did attempt the restore, it was able to see the various files as part of the same set. If the full backup had been unreadable to the present version, it would simply have reported the whole set as corrupt.

    Acronis guarantees, whatever that might mean, that a new version will read at least the two prior versions.

    Good luck
     
  3. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Oh! Have they "upped the ante" ... it used to be only one prior version.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello yontev,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    The issue concerning Windows restore points and Acronis True Image 2009 is related to Windows Vista only. When restoring a backup of Windows Vista system disk containing restore points, some of your restore points (or all of them) may be missing if you boot from the restored system disk and open the System Restore tool.

    Are you able to get the access to the restore points by means of the System restore tool? Are they seen by System restore?

    If the System restore tool is unable to detect the restore points, please make sure that you have restored the disk signature. If you use Windows Restore Points, they will be lost when the disk signature is not restored.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  5. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    With ATI 12/2009, Acronis only assures backward cmpatiblity for one version -- another thing weakened in the ATI12/2009 version.

     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.