Acronis 11 Rescue Media doesn't support PCMCIA

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by tuxo, Nov 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tuxo

    tuxo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Hallo,

    We have a problem with Acronis 11 Home:

    The Rescue Media that we created does obviously n o t recognize the PCMCIA card which provides the computer with a USB 2 port.

    The PCMCIA Card is a "Sitecom Cardbus Card 2P USB 2.0".
    We need this tho provide the computer with a USB2 port, so we can access the external drive with the backup files.

    This definitely worked fine in Acronis 10!

    We have already downloaded the latest built and done a clean install ( numerous times meanwhile), we have created a heap of CDs ..... but no go.

    Any suggestions from your side to help us make the product work?
    Thanks
    tuxo
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Is there a reason you must use ver 11 and not ver 10?
     
  3. tuxo

    tuxo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    unfortunately we have bought TI 11 without noticing that failure before.

    Some of the new features are quite interesting ( Try and decide for example), but so far we can't use TI11 because we can't use the recovery cd.

    To me it looks as if at some stage someone has decided that a driver for the pcmcia card is no longer necessary, because notebooks have USB2 built in. Unfortunately ....some haven't.
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2007
  4. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Although this doesn't solve your problem completely, you could ask Acronis to prodvide you with an ISO of the rescue image that includes the PCMCIA driver.

    Have you checked in BIOS to see if there is perhaps a hardware recognition setting for this - might be that the Acronis driver has been revamped to look for BIOS managed hardware in this respect.

    Colin
     
  5. tuxo

    tuxo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    thanks for answering.....

    yes, BIOS settings are ok.

    When I boot the machine from the Rescue Media CD and disable the quiet mode so I see the boot messages of the kernel there seem to be errors. The only trouble is that the messages are scrolling over the screen too fast to catch them. I'd appreciate being able to capture them somehow to send them to the support. Anyone can help?
     
  6. tuxo

    tuxo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Ok let me tell you, that we're very disappointed about the support.

    We wrote them an email giving them all the details about our problem.
    Back came a standard email telling us to download the latest built.
    We've already done that before..... but did it agein. In case there could be something wrong with the first one.

    No hope .... it didn't work.

    Email to the support. Back came a mail, to download an iso from them.
    We did so, burned another cd..... no go.

    We wrote another email. They told us to register the product! We've already done that..... We told them.

    Then.... the last e-mail so far: They won't help us any more!!!They cannot provide more help in order to keep their service quick!?!

    What the hell is so difficult in reading the mails we sent properly and providing an iso with a driver for the sitecom pcmcia cardo_O We have spent all that money on your product and want it to work!!

    Reading through all these emails I have the impression that they are machine generated and no person has really read ours.

    I would appreciate somebody from acronis to answer here and help us solve the isssue.

    thanks
    tuxo
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello tuxo,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Could you please let us know your Acronis request number (e.g. [Acronis #123456]) which was sent to you in autoreply to your letter? We will find out the reason for such reply. If you have not received an autoreply then please send us a Private Message containing your e-mail address.

    Could you please also clarify, does the computer BIOS see the card plugged in? Does Windows recognise the card?

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  8. tuxo

    tuxo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    thanks for your answer,

    We finally managed to get a contact to the support again.

    As I wrote previously the PCMCIA card is recognized in windows.
    It also is recognized in Aronis 10 Rescue Media CD.
    Only Acronis 11 Rescue Media causes the problem.

    To my opinion the card is no longer supported because modern computers probably won't need a such usb port..... unfortunately ours does.
     
  9. bchan

    bchan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Hello, I've exactly the same problem as yours, though the make of the Cardbus Card is different. It's OK to backup to a USB memory stick attached to the USB2 port provided by the Cardbus Card, but when I try to restore with the boot CD it doesn't recognize that there is a memory stick containing the backup archive attached to the USB2 port.

    Well, if it works in Acronis 10 then I've bought the wrong version... Damn...
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello bchan,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please make sure you use the latest build (8053) of Acronis True Image 11 Home. To get access to updates you should first register your software. Don't forget to recreate Acronis Bootable Rescue Media after updating.

    If updating doesn't solve the problem, please try booting with "acpi=off noapic" parameter as it is described in Acronis Help Post. You may also want to try other parameters described in chapter "Appendix D. Startup Parameters" of Acronis True Image 11 Home User's Guide.

    If the issue persists, please collect some information to let us investigate it thoroughly:

    Please create Windows system information and Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  11. bchan

    bchan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Hello, I just tried with the latest build of TI11 (8053). It still doesn't work. I tried using the suggested 'quiet acpi=off no apci' parameter, also doesn't work.

    You said that this definitely worked in TI10. Can you tell me the build number of version 10 that works with USB2.0 port provided by a PCMCIA card? Thanks.
     
  12. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I just tested this on my old laptop with a cheap Syba USB 2.0 CardBus card.

    With TI 11 (build 8,053), the USB hard drive plugged into the card is not recognized. I tried the quiet acpi=off noapic command too and it didn't make a difference. When TI 11 starts, it actually displays a message on the screen (for a split second) that says something about "no pcmcia drivers installed", "no pcmcia devices in /proc" or something like that.

    The card and drive is recognized okay by XP. The card and drive is also recognized okay by TI 10 (build 4,942).
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.