Acronis 10 doesn't see USB or Personal Media Drive

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by ChiefBrody, Aug 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ChiefBrody

    ChiefBrody Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    I have Acronis 10 Home. I just downloaded the lastest ver. and made a boot CD. I have an image of my C Drive on a Buffalo USB External drive, an HP Personal Media Drive hot swapped into the computer and the same drive plugged in via USB.

    When I boot up from the CD in Full Mode, Acronis doesn't see my USB drive(s) nor my Personal Media drive. I realize I could buy a Hard disk and connect it temporaily, but then what would be the point of using Acronis.

    I love this product and know it's capabilities so maybe I'm missing something. I'm just getting desperate to get this fixed. Thanks.
     
  2. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Two things to try:

    Simplify
    1. Disconnect all USB devices except the Buffalo drive. (A keyboard and mouse are OK to leave connected.)
    2. Connect the Buffalo drive to a rear USB port and it on.
    3. Boot from the Recovery CD and look for the Buffalo.

    Try Safe Mode
    At step 3 above, choose Safe mode instead of Full mode and check for the Buffalo.

    If you aren't able to see the Buffalo drive under any variation of booting from the Recovery CD, you may have to make a BartPE boot disk which uses Windows drivers to see your USB drives.
     
  3. ChiefBrody

    ChiefBrody Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    That did it. I unplugged everything (two full USB hubs and then some) except for the Buffalo. Also left the Personal Media drive in. Rebooted. This time Acronis saw BOTH drives. Am recovering now with the media drive.

    Thanks. You're a life saver!
     
  4. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Ah yes, USB hubs and too many usb devices will make Acronis stumble. So will wireless devices.
     
  5. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Are you saying I have a hole in the middle? :D

    Seriously, thanks for letting us know what worked.
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello ChiefBrody,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are glad to hear that your issue has been solved and you can use Acronis True Image successfully.

    Please notice that you can find the detailed instructions on how to use Acronis True Image 10.0 Home in the respective User's Guide.

    If you have any further questions concerning Acronis software, please feel free to submit a request for technical support or post any of them on this forum. We will certainly try to help you in resolving any issues.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.