AcroIEHelper.dll - can't remove

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Ocky, Sep 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    After uninstalling Adobe Reader 7.09 from wife's laptop in favour of the,
    to my mind, much better and 'nicer' PDF-XChange Viewer http://www.docu-track.com/home/prod_user/pdfx_viewer/ ,
    I am left with the folder C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\ActiveX containing the file AcroIEHelper.dll

    Her setup is XP Pro (SP2) and she runs as Administrator. Have cleaned the
    registry, checked permissions, tried to unregister the .dll, deleted the applicable entry in HKey Classes Root,
    tried Unlocker etc. tried safe mode.
    All to no avail. Apparently, as per Unlocker app. no handles could be found.
    Evrything on her computer is working fine, but it irritates me that I can't
    delete this last remaining folder containing AcroIEHelper.dll. ( BTW it's also
    no longer present in IE 'Enable/Disable Add-ons').
    Any ideas ?
     
  2. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,076
    You might want to try deleting it using a Linux live CD, or a BART PE CD if you have one of those.
     
  3. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    No, don't have - wife's comp. is a very basic setup. What about trying the
    recovery console which I have insatalled on her comp. so we don't have to
    use the CD .. ?
     
  4. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,076
    You could try that. You have to change a setting in Group Policy in order to remove some restrictions. See the below link. After the recovery console is running you have to use the command:AllowAllPaths = TRUE

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/310497
     
  5. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Thanks tgell ! Will try this within the next few days.
     
  6. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Yes. Success. After I remembered the "" in DOS for folder names with spaces, it was plain sailing. Bye bye Adobe.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.