acquiring network address...

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by zeppelin1919, Oct 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zeppelin1919

    zeppelin1919 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    Italy
    I just start using L'n'S (2.05p3). I have a problem with my internet connection.
    Every 2 minutes (approximately) I lost my internet connection and in the systray appear an icon that say: "acquiring network address". In L'n'S I can see that my IP Address is become to 0.0.0.0.0 and my network interfaces is unchecked. After 15 seconds all return to work properly: my IP Adress is correct, my netwwork interfaces is checked and i have the connection to internet.
    I have load "EnhancedRulesSet" and I have imported "club_internet_adsl.rie" and "sharing.rie" from L'n'S website.
    What can I do?
    Thanks a lot for your help and sorry for my bad english.

    zeppelin
     
  2. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    I'm also having a similar issue, i've just put look'n'stop on my laptop which uses a wireless connection however no ip address shows up on the main LnS screen. However i'm still able to browse the internet. Will LnS still work properly like this. Any help would be appreciated.
     
  3. zeppelin1919

    zeppelin1919 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    Italy
    Looking to my L'n'S log I have solve the problem adding this two rules:

    1
    UDP : Allow Port 67
    Destination PC-->Net - Source Net-->PC
    IP:address ALL
    TCP/UDP : Port
    Equals
    67 bootps

    2
    UDP : Allow Port 68
    Source PC-->Net - Destination Net-->PC
    IP:address ALL
    TCP/UDP : Port
    Equals
    68 bootpc

    Is this a good solution?
    Any problem with my security?
     
  4. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Hi,

    Yes, this is the solution, I guess DHCP requests were blocked.

    However, a rule is supposed to allow that yet in standard & enhanced rulesets: "UDP : BOOTP / DHCP", so it is strange you needed to add it again.

    Frederic
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.