Aconis wont see SATA drives

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by dmcst, Jun 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dmcst

    dmcst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Acronis wont see SATA drives when booting from CD. Error: E000101F4: Acronis True Image Home has not found any hard disk drives ...
    I am using AMD SB700 chip set drive controller. I spent many hours trying to solve this problem, I even returned my MOBO because I thought it was defective. Acronis sees the drive while in windows but when I booted from boot cd it would only see drives attached via USB. I did download and install the driver update but it was no help. My MOBO is ASUS M4A78 Pro. I did add PCI SATA controller and it works fine. The issue is the on board SATA controller. I don't like using this method to contacting a vendor but there doesn't seem to be any other way.
     
  2. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    If you raise a support ticket via the website (you'll need to have your TI registered) noting the MB and PCI Sata controller you have they might be able to provide you with a special ISO version.

    What version and build of TI are you using?
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2009
  3. fungus

    fungus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Posts:
    69
    The Acronis 2009 boot CD can have both the "full" and the "safe" startup modes. I had to register TI2009 then download the safe software, the full version is already available. After that the boot cds I created had both options. I recall that the full mode was the one that worked best for me.

    If you don't have TI 2009, you can download the free trial version of it and make a boot cd that will restore, but won't create backups.

    Lastly, I have created a BART boot cd that has Acronis TI 2009 plugin software. This disc also allows backup and restore. The plugin is also downloaded from Acronis, if you have registered TI 2009.

    Perhaps you can find an usable boot cd among these options.

    Acronis did send me an even different boot cd to try but it was not usable for me.

    Fungus
     
  4. dmcst

    dmcst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks, I have tried the safe mode and it does see the drives but when I try to use any of the tools it crashes out. What is TI?
     
  5. dmcst

    dmcst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Where do I find the support ticket link? All I could find is this user forum. Forums are a great resource. My software is registered, using Acronis*True*Image*Home® version 9.0 (build*3,854) and Acronis*Disk Director Suite® version 10.0 (build*2,160)
     
  6. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    OK - excuse the playing with the W7 snip tool, log in to your account, then click on the button I've circled.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. dmcst

    dmcst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks, (that's funny you made me laugh this morning) sometimes I do need that much direction, I am not the sharpest fork in the drawer. Anyway from that page I just go into a mobious circle of logging in and then clicking on every link until I get frustrated because I cant send them the infromation about their software short commings. I guess I will try to call them with their their software problem( cant wait to be on the phone for an hour) Thanks for the help.
     
  8. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Ah .. version 9 is not known for good Sata support. Try, as has been suggested, the trial version 2009. It has much better hardware support.
     
  9. dmcst

    dmcst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    I just upgraded to 2009 and it finds my drives on boot up from DC so I am good with that, although disc-director10 cant see the drives unless in windows. So there you have it for only another $29.99 it works.
    thanks for the help.
    end
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.