acer aspire 3100

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by iamjo2, Jul 13, 2015.

  1. iamjo2

    iamjo2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    i have an acer aspire 3100 and someone installed an antivirus program that somehow has corrupted the laptop. the program is Panda something or other and i cant get rid of it and it has loaded up the computer. the c drive has no space on it and there arent a lot of programs on the computer to begin with. i tried to use the aspire recovery system but it is password protected and i dont know wht that is either. what i'd like to do it reinstall windows but i cant do that too because there is no spare space on the drive and the program needs extra space to load it in.........does anyone have any idea how to get by this. or maybe get by the password thing or any kind of suggestion? thanks for any help and suggestions,
     
  2. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    525
    I recommend getting Antivirus Remover.
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/antivirus-remover.352955/
    You need to restart in safe mode to run this.
     
  3. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    And if the solution offered by @IvoShoen doesn't work,you can create a rescue disc with Paragon Backup & Recovery 14 Free (just an example) on another PC,and use it on your Acer to format the partition.After that you can reinstall Windows.
     
  4. GakunGak

    GakunGak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    953
    Use Hiren Boot CD, load mini windows xp, look into your drive C, delete junk files, boot into windows, do a cleaning from there, profit!
    http://www.hirensbootcd.org/
     
  5. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,235
    If there is no free space on your C drive, with no much data on it, it sound like a disk problem, which should be able to be fixed by running chkdsk/f in a elevated command prompt.
     
  6. iamjo2

    iamjo2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    now i tried those things and stll no joy. Does anyone have an idea what i'd get into if i formated the c drive and did an install of Vista? Is that even possible? any help and or suggestions are very welcome. Thanks
     
  7. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,267
    Location:
    England