AC97 Audio Device Driver

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by tweety pie, Aug 4, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tweety pie

    tweety pie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Posts:
    67
    Hi all to those who can answer my plea!!!

    I'm trying to update the AC97 Audio Device C-Media

    I have been on DriverGuide.Com to search for the following driver:-

    PCI\VEN_1039&DEV_7012&SUBSYS_20071631&REV_AO\3&61AAA01&0&17

    As hard as I try I can't find anything to match, even been on c-media web site... not much help either... keep hitting a brick walll

    ANY help would be appreciated. :(
     
  2. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    Hi again - I'm moving your post to a more appropriate forum section and please check your PMs shortly!
     
  3. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,217
    Location:
    UK
  4. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    The AC97 codec on tweety pie's PC is made by C-Media, NOT Realtek.

    I have a hunch that the chip might be based on C-Media CMI9738 or 9739, therefore I recommend downloading these drivers:

    http://www.cmedia.com.tw/download/e_UDA039_01.htm

    Just download the UDA 039 Package. No need to download the audio rack. :)
     
  5. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,217
    Location:
    UK
    Many thanks firecat for the correction :oops:

    Regards
     
  6. tweety pie

    tweety pie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Posts:
    67
    Firecat, Thank you so much for the link, I'll give that a look. I couldn't seem to match what driver it needed from my row of numbers/letters, I'll let you know how I get on hopefully 'sound' will then come through my speakers, Cheers.

    This all came about because I've installed a new XP SP2 installation disc and oviously the 'driver' is on the original packard bell disks that came with the pc.
     
  7. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    Have you logged on to windows update yet, i seem to remember both the AC97 and my video card driver being available in "hardware optional", if you choose "Custom" when you log on, maybe worth a try. :)
     
  8. suites

    suites Guest

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.