?... About new tab page in Firefox "box in upper right"

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by luciddream, Jul 28, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,497
    I know you can click it to get rid of all those annoying adds. But I remember someone giving me a tweak to get rid of even that tiny box in the upper right-hand corner altogether, thereby leaving the entire page blank. But I can't remember it, and never wrote it down like I usually do when finding new tweaks. "If" memory serves it was an about:config "url" tweak?... again "if". Could've even been adding/modding a CSS or .dat file somewhere in the Firefox program folder. I do think I believe hearing some tweak(s) where you do that as well.

    Thanks
     
  2. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,766
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I don't know and would like to know how to get rid of the new Search form and the Show/Hide button in the new tab page but I can tell you that if you change the way you handle History to "Use custom settings for History", you ll get rid of the annoying tabs that fill the page, they ll be empty.

    Bo
     
  3. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,905
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  4. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,766
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Nice link JR, changing "browser.newtab.url" to about:blank did it for me. That got rid of the Search bar that I was talking about (the one in the New tab page). The search bar that comes next to the address bar I do get rid of it by drag in it out using the Customize menu.

    Bo
     
  5. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,905
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Ah, I didn't know that you meant THAT Search Bar; I thought it was the main one. :) Glad to see that the tweak worked. :thumb:
     
  6. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,766
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Yes it did, thank you:cool:. After making the change in about:config, now I get a blank page when I open a new tab, which is the way I prefer that to be. Doing the change also gets rid of the Tab button, Lucid should be happy as well.

    Bo
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.