about licence

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by VISHFERNS, Sep 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. VISHFERNS

    VISHFERNS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Posts:
    2
    hi, i've just purchased a single-computer license (Smart Security). entering the username and password went splendidly, but when i want to check the license expiration date (via the Help/Verify license validity in the program main menu) the following note appears (in a separate window):

    "License could not be verified. Please enable access to the expiration database server exp02.eset.com"

    could anyone tell me what's wrong? i've activated the product already in my computer.and already crossed 48 hours but still it appears

    maybe i'm doing something wrong
     
  2. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    It sounds like your computer cannot reach the computer used to verify a license expiration date.

    If you open a Command Prompt (filename: CMD.EXE) and try issuing a "ping exp02.eset.com" command, what is the result?

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  3. PCdoc

    PCdoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    India
    Same happened to me When i installed it on my client's comp :-s:doubt: o_O
     
  4. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    And what were the results of your ping?

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  5. VISHFERNS

    VISHFERNS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Posts:
    2
    i got the result that ping.exp02.eset.com is not recognized is an internal or external command
     
  6. tommy456

    tommy456 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Posts:
    137
    Well for me that address responds to ping requests (exp02.eset.com) I am currently using ESS4 and if i press the validate licence button nothing happens it doesn't even check the server anymore, this happened a short time after ESS5 was released ,so something is clearly wrong

    and after reading other threads i will be continuing to use ESS4 until they sort out all the stuff that needs fixing,
     
  7. alan1476

    alan1476 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    Saint Marteen
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.