about HIPS again

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus/Smart Security Beta' started by piranha, Jul 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    HIPS are interesting in v5 RC but...

    if my OLD pc is already HIPS procteted by Comodo free firewall, can I disable HIPS in nod32 and save memory and CPU power o_O

    Celeron 2.80 GHz
    1.25 Go ram
    XP Home SP3
     
  2. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    I'm not sure what sort of difference in performance you will see, but you do not have to use ESET's HIPS.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  3. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    I did not see differences in performance after disabling or enabling the HIPS

    in addition, (at this point) is not recommended because youre disabling the self-defense of your anti virus system
     
  4. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    agoretsky

    thanks ;)


    False !! Self-defense option is just under "Enable HIPS" and not include in it
     
  5. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    then try yourself ;)
     
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Self-defense is part of HIPS. So disabling HIPS completely will also disable SD.
     
  7. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    grrrrrr

    you mean that self defense is checked but not enabled because in grey ??

    Is it possible to seperate HIPS and SD, if not, why ??
     
  8. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Because SD uses HIPS rules to protect crucial files and keys.
     
  9. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    i suggest to correct something

    put HIPS above SD looks like these are two things completely separated , it would be to correct. If I thought that, others can too
     
  10. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    It is correct and obvious that disabling HIPS will effectively disable SD as well (the SD check box turns grey and cannot be ticked / unticked as long as HIPS is disabled).
     
  11. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    Maybe a good idea would be add another filtering mode named "automatic mode" containing only self-defense rules, on the other hand "automatic mode with exceptions" will allow to evaluate the rule list, too.
    like in the firewall
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2011
  12. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    What is the "add group" button purpose in HIPS?
     
  13. NoobStick

    NoobStick Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Posts:
    0
    Hey toxinon12345
    I am no expert out in HIPS, in that I am just a novice, but anyway I will guess that the "add group" button purpose in HIPS" is to create a group of rules for a user account, or accounts to obtain a better control I think.

    Take care

    NoobStick :)
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2011
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.