about Dynamic Security Agent

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by jmonge, Jan 4, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    did any one recomends this software to run with DefenSeWall?is it over kill?or does it complament DefenSeWall?any coments?advises?thanks in advance;)
     
  2. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    I have only one complaint with DSA, it's built in firewall blocks ping. And no way to turn if off except stop the DSA.

    Sul.
     
  3. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Jmonge,

    Want a killer setup?

    - first line: your router - inbound (hardware) firewall - future outbound control of DW
    - second line: DefenseWall for threatgate applications (locking untrusted programs and files)
    - third line: Spyberus: you have roll back opton for installs (in the cases you would need to trust and installation executable with DW)

    On demand A2 Malware 4

    You could use PC Tools FW for the time being (DW not offering outbound)
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2009
  4. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    very smart kees,i was thinking about spyberus it sounds good advise:thumb:
     
  5. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    now my question is ?is spyberus effective at removing baddies?
     
  6. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i think i found a match made in heaven thanks to kees:thumb:
    spyberus:rollback for trusted files and defensewall rollback for untrusted:thumb: :thumb: now i have to throw some stones to spyberus to see if it qualifies in my set up,cool thanks kees:thumb:
     
  7. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    975
    Actually, if you can get the installation files for PrivateFirewall (install it with Sandboxie and copy the files or open the installer with Universal Extractor), you can open PrivateFirewall and allow ping for the "System Services" entry. Then you can close it and run DSA as usual. I saved the DSA registry entries so I can just merge them on a new install.
     
  8. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    Sweet, I have used private firewall before too. Never thought about doing that though. I will defiantely take a look at that. Many many thanks for that heads up.

    Sul.
     
  9. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    975
    You'll need the proper version (I used 6.0.11.30) and the SSCProt.dll in the system32 folder. Possibly pf6.lic too.
     
  10. Less

    Less Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Posts:
    248
    anyone still using DSA?
     
  11. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i was using this wonderfull firewall/antimalware but dont know if it is compatible with vista and also i got malware defender:) but it is very good firewall with hips lite and powerfull:thumb: if i didnt have malware defender for sure i will use this one as a firewall in my pc's
     
  12. dw2108

    dw2108 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Posts:
    480
    That's a good question. Is it worth installing?

    Dave
     
  13. Less

    Less Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Posts:
    248
    i was using DSA for quite awhile.... and i love it

    but i was using SSM and Comodo Firewall ....
    if i use it, overkill.....

    i wonder if there is any updates on this neat software...
     
  14. Less

    Less Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Posts:
    248
    u have malware defender..... that is very good...:thumb:
     
  15. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    yeah it is very good sosftware;) i have it in silent mode so i dont get bother by manny pop ups:argh:
     
  16. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    SpyBerus (or like now, PC Armor) seems like the ideal "Semi-HIPS" solution for me. DefenseWall is not my cup of tea... anyway, will the protection of PC Armor also make AVG LinkScanner redundant with its provided protection? I'm thinking about protection for the Opera Web-browser; exploits, zero-day malware, etc.?

    Might eventually add Security 360 (IObit) in the future, and in that case probably the next beta version at the earliest.
     
  17. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Kees, could you also tell me what RGuard is for PC Armor as it gets installed at the same time? Thanks. :)
     
  18. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    RGuard is a security tool similar to site advisor
     
  19. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Ah, thanks. How does it compare to AVG LinkScanner protection-wise?
     
  20. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i never tried the link scaner but this rguard was very strong indedd:) ofcourse better than site advisor:thumb:
     
  21. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Yes, just thinking about the whole "software" as a package - as I'm using Opera, my browser is often not supported, so now I need some information on Opera and PC Armor as a whole in comparison to the protection provided by AVG LinkScanner. :)
     
  22. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    ah i see i think kees use it before too and did you go to their website?
     
  23. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Thanks, jmonge. It seems it doesn't support Opera, and has only produced pop-ups so far (FPs). I've indeed installed new software, but it hasn't noticed that, so I'm more thinking through if I should install Security 360 instead.
     
  24. Creer

    Creer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,345
    BTW anyone know where I can find older version of Spyberus? I mean FREE version before 'upgrade' to payware PCArmor.

    Thanks,
     
  25. StevieO

    StevieO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,067
    Been using Dynamic Security Agent for several years on an XP PC with no issues and decent alerts etc. Some time afterwards i also installed Threatfire. I found a lot of everlap with the two, both often alerting to the same things. But now and then one or the other would be alone in alerting, so i kept both running.

    I'd recommend to people if they needed some extra protection that they didn't already have.

    Creer

    I have at least one version of Spyberus FREE kicking around on a HD somewhere. If you havn't been able to locate one in a few days or so, then let me know and i'll go and connect it up and dig it out for you, if you like ?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.