About Defensewall...

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by OHM, Nov 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. OHM

    OHM Guest

    Hi,
    Thanks to Kees1958, kind enough to send a private message to me,
    in order to tell me that Defensewall is free in www.giveawayoftheday.com.
    And the WWS people kind enought to post it in the thread.
    I heard that Defensewall is a nice piece of software...
    Bu I just have two questions to ask.

    1. Is Defensewall easy to use ase ThreatFire?
    2. Does it do everything by itself, like ThreatFire?

    Thanks in advance, and have a nice day~
     
  2. OHM

    OHM Guest

    Or maybe I should just stay with ThreatFire...o_O
     
  3. Hezakiah

    Hezakiah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    165
    Location:
    SW Florida
    Thanks for the heads up on this. My question is this: Will Defensewall work along side my KIS7 with no problems?
     
  4. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Nothing could be easier to use than DW. The support is the best. I don't think you will have any problems.
     
  5. Wordward

    Wordward Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Posts:
    707
    But we do need to uninstall ThreaFire first right? And is DF on the same par as TF?
     
  6. Perman

    Perman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,160
    Hi,

    No need to remove TF for DW just yet. They are friends as I am keyboarding.
    To me DW is more like a sandbox app. Although developer likes to call it HIPS/Behaviour Blocker. Take care.
     
  7. OHM

    OHM Guest

    Thanks for the replies guys.
    Well, I don't really like to install a lot of programs...
    So I'm going to uninstall TF and try DW.
    People call it a sandbox?
    Oh no, I have absolutely no idea on how to use it...
    Can I just leave it as it is?
    Does it do everything by itself, even though I leave it in a default setting?
    Thanks in advance

    Regards
     
  8. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    There is a help-file, plus a thread for it now.
     
  9. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    I run it using the default settings and just let it do its thing most of the time. Occassionally i do need to manually configure the untrusted list. I might need to manually add or remove certain apps to the list, but thats pretty simple stuff.

    Basically DW protects important system areas by limiting what untrusted apps can do. Like if a piece of malware gets in thru your browser DW will stop it from doing any major damage.
     
  10. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Hi all, for freeware finders only

    On Vista

    1. Run Vista with these setting https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=185220
    When you run Vista out of the box with UAC and get irritate about UAC you can also use Tweak UAC to run UAC in quiet mode (but always use UAC)

    2. Install TreatFire standard out of the box add the internet outbound protection (posts 5, 6 and 7 of https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=191802). Due to UAC (registry and file protection you won't be needing other custom rules.

    3. Use the default Vista FireWall (remember it is written for Vista so it won't put much strain on your system), disable windows defender.


    4. Download AVAST free:
    a) stop the standard shield
    b) stop the network shield
    c) stop either Outlook Exchange shield (when using Outlook Express or other web based e-mail) or Internet Post shield (only when you are using Outlook Exchange)
    d) enable P2P forward checking on high when downloading with P2P programs like LimeWire otherwise stop this also
    e) enable Web Shield (set sensitivity to high). This way Avast will check incoming HTTP streams before they are executed.

    5. Install DefenseWall (it is the only sandbox wich does not need any configuration and works okay with Digital Rights Management) add shared folders of LimeWire/Kazaa or any other P2P as untrusted in DW.

    Result a rock tight easy to maintain lean and mean security.

    NB When you are behind a hardware firewall you can disable Vista FireWall also.

    NB When you do not have a decent backup/roll back procedure Windows Defender might provide some additional protection (I have a external harddrive for image and data backup).
    Enable Windows Defender with:
    - Scan OFF (it is a worthless scan only eating CPU power)
    - Realtime protection ON
    - Advanced options
    a) scan archived folders OFF
    b) heuristics ON
    c) create restore point ON

    Effect:
    1. Avast will kill known malware in incoming streams before they are executed (written to your PC).
    2. UAC and DW will dead stop all malware when they want to make 'nasty changes' outside the user space.
    3. When installing a program TF will inform you before hand on changes (as will UAC in some aspects). Remember to right click a downloaded excutable/file and scan it with Avast first and then run it as trusted in DW.
    4. When you regret this (with backup) fall back to previous image or (without backup) use Windows Defender restore point.

    Password protect DW and Avast. Remember to run a full avast scan before data and image backup.

    Regards Kees

    NB when you feel naked keep using your Antivirus, AntiSpyware and Software firewalland forget this post
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2007
  11. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    977
    Location:
    Paris
    I wonder if any would find this of value:

    I installed Defensewall and ran the Ghost Security Registry Test.

    Not a peep from DefenseWall.
     
  12. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Hi all, for freeware finders only

    ON XP

    1. Harden PC with Safe XP and install ScriptDefender

    2. Install TreatFire standard out of the box add the custom rules of https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=191802). (sorry)

    3. Use the default XP FireWall (fast and sufficient inbound protection, TF will cover outbound, saves an software firewall), disable Windows Defender

    4. Download AVAST free:
    a) stop the standard shield
    b) stop the network shield
    c) stop either Outlook Exchange shield (when using Outlook Express or other web based e-mail) or Internet Post shield (only when you are using Outlook Exchange)
    d) enable P2P forward checking on high when downloading with P2P programs like LimeWire otherwise stop this also
    e) enable Web Shield (set sensitivity to high). This way Avast will check incoming HTTP streams before they are executed.

    5. Install DefenseWall (it is the only sandbox wich does not need any configuration and works okay with Digital Rights Management) add shared folders of LimeWire/Kazaa or any other P2P as untrusted in DW, add Script Defender also as an untrusted application.

    Result a solid easy to maintain lean and mean security.

    NB When you are behind a hardware firewall you can disable XP FireWall also.

    NB When you do not have a decent backup/roll back procedure Windows Defender might provide some additional protection (I have a external harddrive for image and data backup).
    Enable Windows Defender with:
    - Scan OFF (it is a worthless scan only eating CPU power)
    - Realtime protection ON
    - Advanced options
    a) scan archived folders OFF
    b) heuristics ON
    c) create restore point ON

    Effect:
    1. Avast will kill known malware in incoming streams before they are executed (written to your PC).
    2. DW will dead stop all malware when they want to make 'nasty changes' outside the user space.
    3. When installing a program TF will inform you before hand on changes. Remember to right click a downloaded excutable and scan it with Avast first and then run it as trusted in DW.
    4. When you regret this (with backup) fall back to previous image or (without backup) use Windows Defender restore point.

    Password protect DW and Avast. Remember to run a full avast scan before data and image backup.

    Regards Kees

    NB when you feel naked keep using your Antivirus, AntiSpyware and Software firewall and forget this post
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2007
  13. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    DefenseWall marks all downloaded files and programs as untrusted. This means they can execute, only with sort of limited user rights. All programs installed before DW and not in the default list of DW will run with full rights.
     
  14. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    Have already dLo'ed DW, but won't get a chance to install 'til later on. Just curious as to the length of trial period for it (is it the same 30 days as at their site) or is it a full-license with annual-renewal? Edit : I discovered on my own that it's an unlimited version with need for pay for future upgrades. That is a bargain and won't interfere with xmas shopping!!!
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2007
  15. MaB69

    MaB69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    540
    Location:
    Paris
    ... and you have to run them untrusted by right clicking to use GW contextual menu

    Many thanks Ilya for this marvellous gift :thumb:

    MaB
     
  16. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,422
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    Lord, I don't know what happened to me, but downloaded DefenseWall from Giveaway, closed all Windows programs as always, installed it, rebooted and got a BSOD. I figured, okay happens sometimes, so tried again and same thing. So, I tried a hard boot and same BSOD, so tried to get into Safe mode but no luck.

    Fortunately, I'd made a recovery disk when I backed things up with Paragon HDM and had to go that route. It put my computer back to what it was in June because dummy me hasn't backed anything up since. It was about due for a cleaning anyway. I do it yearly.

    Don't know what the problem was. I've used Giveawayoftheday before. More than likely it was a bad download, but having to reboot kind of negates loading DFW in virtual, so I'll have to pass.
     
  17. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    Chuck57, could you find all the minidump files (that are .dmp files within your "%windows directory%\minidump" folder, zipp all of them and send it to support [at] softsphere [dot] com? This will helps me to determine and fix the issue.
     
  18. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,422
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    Hi, Ilya. I posted on the giveawayoftheday thread that I can't retrieve the minidump files. After getting the BSOD's, I tried to go to SAFE mode, but couldn't. The keyboard arrows wouldn't function. I had no choice but to use my Paragon recovery disc and restore an image I'd made from my other hard drive. All info was lost.

    Exactly what happened is as follows. I closed all Windows programs as I always do before installing anything. Defensewall installed without a problem. On reboot, the reboot went well until it got past the point where the Windows XP Pro logo is with the little bar underneath showing it's loading, and then the screen went dark, flashed blue for an instant, went dark again and the blue screen came up.

    I tried it 3 times with the same results, and then decided to go to safe mode to uninstall, but as I said, couldn't get into safe mode so had to use a backup image which meant losing all info.

    Generic locally built computer, Seagate HD, Win XP Pro sp2 with all updates, 1.8G AMD Athlon, Gig RAM. I had both Sandboxie and Returnil but both were off.
     
  19. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    "Safe Mode" didn't work? That is very strange as DW doesn't load with it at all.

    Anyway- mail me and I'll send you a version and instructions. I don't like any errors and, especially, BSOD's. I need to fix it, but without your cooperation won't be able to do this. Just an example- I had a support request with a BSOD issue. After minidump analysis is start clear that the reason is ... DXEC.02 Speech Enhancement, dxec02.sys driver module. Who could even imagine that?
     
  20. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,422
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    I hit the F8 key and safe mode appeared, but my keyboard wouldn't work. I will PM you. As I've said here and on the giveaway site, Defensewall is a great product and I'm not going to change my mind on that because of one single problem.

    *edit* I just checked and Defensewall has nothing to do with safe mode. The 'F' keys work, at least F8, but the arrows don't work on this keyboard in Safe Mode. It's a Microsoft keyboard that plugs into one of my USB ports.
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2007
  21. ChrisBUK

    ChrisBUK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Posts:
    86
    I just downloaded it from giveawayoftheday and was about to install it, but think I might wait until we find out what caused Chuck57's PC to do what it did.
     
  22. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041

    Make an image or create a linux livecd that way if you have a problem you can just restore or delete the driver sys if safemode is unavailable

    I have used DW since beta ..... it is generally trouble free.
     
  23. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,422
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    Well, Ilya, and ChrisBUK, I downloaded a copy from Softsphere per Ilya's request to try and reproduce the error, and it loaded perfectly and is running fine. I'm going to remove it and try giveaway's download again and we'll see what happens.

    ChrisBUK, considering that I'm the only one who seems to have had a problem, I'd go ahead and install Defensewall. I'm thinking I might have just gotten a bad download, especially seeing as the regular downloaded copy works fine.
     
  24. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    I tried the gaotd offer and all went very well until Widows Live Messenger. Help files and even making msgr trusted didn't help. Hung for 60-90 secs. each attempt until the same error popped up. WLM 8.5 just came out of beta, so I'm not sure if it was the problem.
     

    Attached Files:

  25. dRag0nMa

    dRag0nMa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Posts:
    79
    Location:
    SH China
    Ilya,

    i got an issue.
    with default cogfig of DW, i cant run explorer.
    i use total commander as my file manager.
    when i want to use explorer(e.g. by win-E), explorer will crash, it will restart.
    but if i disable DW, everything is ok.

    Os: win2oo3 sp2 en
    dW: v2.o7
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.