about changing dns server?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by siberianwolf, Nov 9, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. siberianwolf

    siberianwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    516
    hi
    if i set dns server thru both router's dns settings and windows (internet connection properties) dns settings, would that cause a conflict or increase the performance?
    if one of the above is sufficient, considered performance-wise, which way to go? router level or windows level?
    thanks
     
  2. Fad

    Fad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Posts:
    378
    Location:
    England
    I`d be interested to hear what anyone says about this as well....

    I was led to believe that it was a case of either/or that would work equally well (when I first started using OpenDNS a couple of years ago)

    I thought it would be easier in the long run to put them into the router once and for all and set the settings in windows to point to the router - although currently I have them set the same in both, must have forgot when I reinstalled windows and just automatically put them in without thinking.

    It apparently works both ways, but I would also like to know if there is a preferred method. :thumb:
     
  3. siberianwolf

    siberianwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    516
    hi fad,
    thanks for your interest.
    i thought it'd be better to use it @router level, as well. but on the other hand, i've heard that letting router deal w/ it instead of windows dns settings and/or setting them both would cause some kind of slowdown of dns resolving.
    so i wanna hear what others got to say about that as well.
     
  4. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,007
    If you set it up in windows then windows will ignore the dns from the router.
    so its best to setup the dns in the router and then all computers connected to the router setup as dns auto will use the same dns.
    hope that clears it up.
     
  5. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    From my experience:

    The router Netgear WRT614 hands it's DNS information to the requesting DHCP client.
    The result is that the computer connects straight to the DNS server.

    The router Apple Airport Extreme Base Station hands it's own IP address as DNS service.
    The result is that the computer connects to the router for DNS requests.

    I don't notice a performance difference, I use OpenDNS.
    In both cases, you don't have to worry about network settings when you rely on DHCP and configure your DNS service there.
     
  6. siberianwolf

    siberianwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    516
    thank you lodore and wilbertnl.
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2010
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.