About BitDefender 8 Free edition...expiry...

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by sweater, May 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sweater

    sweater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,674
    Location:
    Philippines, the Political Dynasty Capital of the
    I am using BD 8 free, and last night when I tried to open it...it just says that this version has already expired, and it asked me to buy a licensed key. I was surprised knowing that this is free, and version 8 scanner only. :cautious: :'( :rolleyes: :doubt:

    Is this the way BitDefender 8 free behave? there's a month period of using it and we can't used it for long and that it will expired just like a trial versions programs? o_O

    So I have no other way but to uninstall and remove it from my machine, and planning now to install AntiVir as a replacement back-up on demand antivirus scanner. :shifty: :oops:
     
  2. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Just contact BitDefender and explain the situation. They'll give you a new key for BD8 Free which will work. I know coz i've done that too :)
     
  3. Albinoni

    Albinoni Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Posts:
    709
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Since when does BD 8 free use a key, not that I know of. I've used BD8 free a while back as a 2nd ondemand scanner to my NOD32 and have never had to have a key.

    I know that Avast (both free and paid) does need a key after 2 months.
     
  4. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    It does when it says your key expired even though it's BD9 Free.
     
  5. Albinoni

    Albinoni Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Posts:
    709
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Wouldnt the solution be to just re-download a new version and execute or install it from there, but make sure the old version is fully uninstalled including the folder deleted as well, as this might cause problem with the registry and it might still hold the earlier key in it.
     
  6. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,522
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Sounds like a trial version. Not the free on demand scanner with no realtime/resident capability.
     
  7. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    No. It has nothing to do with that. BD8 Free simply says it expired on certain machines, mostly those that were using trial of BD product before. Some expire randomly without this reason. You just contact BD tech support, explan what happened and they'll give you new key.
     
  8. sweater

    sweater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,674
    Location:
    Philippines, the Political Dynasty Capital of the
    Thanks...;) Rejzor..:D

    I've already e-mailed the support team of BD, I hope they'll respond as quickly as possible. By the mean time, I just use AntiVir and didn't installs its active Guard. I'll just use this for now as a back-up scanner while still waiting for reply from Romania. :cautious: :cool: ;)
     
  9. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,522
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Oh that is weird. Btw I use NOD32 as resident & KAV3.5 w/extended database as on demand.:D
     
  10. sweater

    sweater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,674
    Location:
    Philippines, the Political Dynasty Capital of the
    I have just receive the new key for BitDefender 8 free through e-mail. So fast, i requested the support team yesterday and they quicky reply today. :eek: ;)

    Many thanks RejZor, I am proud of you...:cool: :D
     
  11. sweater

    sweater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,674
    Location:
    Philippines, the Political Dynasty Capital of the
    Kaspersky is not free, and heavy on a system...:p
     
  12. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,522
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Correct not free. But in nonresident mode it uses zero resources.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.