About Avast home protection

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Link, Aug 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lonelywolf

    lonelywolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Posts:
    73
    Moreover there is an extended period between signature updates in most current free versions, avast home edition is no exception.
     
  2. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Erm, what extended period? Free version checks for updates just the same as payable one. Unlike AVIRA and AVG that check for them only once per 24 hours (uber lame unless you hack them).
     
  3. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    Avira Free ON ITS OWN lets u make a task to update more than once a day? if ur doing a workaround of some sort even if its not hacking means it still doesnt have the ability by default.
     
  4. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    well i have Avira free running atm and it wont... http://i31.tinypic.com/123v4t2.jpg
     
  5. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    ah so i was right the program was not designed with that feature tho. its MEANT to be updated only once a day so as i said. ur doing a work around. easy or not its still a workaround.
     
  6. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,151
  7. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    Exactly!
    Every av has default settings.
    The free Avira av has a default setting for updates of every 24 hrs.
    If one doesn't like the default setting, you change it.
    If you want to use the expert mode, you change the default selection.
    Why is that so hard to understand? :)
     
  8. risl

    risl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    581
    It has a restriction, otherwise there wouldn't be any popups saying you can't do this and that. You are only taking advantage of a way how to cheat it.
     
  9. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    Avast is not moving to the cloud at this time as far as i know.
     
  10. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    I don't know about AVG but Avira you only need to setup a task. You don't need a "hack".

    Getting back on topic, I like Avast Home. I gives me the least amount of headaches to use. Once their beta is out, the interface will be redone and it's really one of the best free home av on the market.

    Ice
     
  11. allizomeniz

    allizomeniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    943
    Greetings all. I was reading this thread and decided I needed to register and give my 2 cents.

    I would say as of right now Avast Home is meeting my need perfectly on my Toshiba laptop with Vista Home Basic. It's not the only protection I use but I like it for a free antivirus. I also use Malwarebytes and SuperAntispyware for on-demand and they have yet to find anything Avast missed.

    If you go to the Avast support forum though you'll find others who have had quite bad experiences. I'm sure a lot of those were caused by their own inexperience or downright stupidity, but some of them are legit. It's hard to predict with 100% accuracy how any software will react with any other or with a particular machine.

    Many moons ago I was happy with Norton, then Spysweeper, then Trend Micro. But they all disappointed at some point and now I have Avast. But I'm not loyal to it in the least. If it stops working for me or causes harm to my system I'll drop it like a hot potato.

    Alwil recently announced they have installed a former senior vice-president of consumer sales at Symantec as CEO. I'm watching with great interest to see where this goes. It could be a great advantage for Avast or it could be the dumbest thing they ever did.
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2009
  12. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,294
    Setting up Avira so it updates more then once is day is not a "hack".
    It's doin nothing more then setting up the program to perform in such a way so it fits your particular application.

    Hacking is alot more then what some of you are refering to thats for sure.
     
  13. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    What else it is than a hack? Hack doesn't necessarily means a modification of code. It can also mean you simply modified something. But saying "modified" and "hacked" also has a different meaning. Modifying something usually means modifying something that is available there by default. Hacking it means you're changing something that wasn't meant to be changed by default.
    In this case, default updater task cannot be set below 24 hour check cycle.
    Same goes for AVG which is even more strict. However avast! offers update checks every 4 hours which is 8 times better than the competition without doing anything.

    Of course you can do it, but setting bunch of tasks is not really user friendly, they are not initiated on new net connection, they can overlap (especially on AVIRA servers that sometimes take over 5 minutes just to get status back).
    It's a "hack" alright.
     
  14. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,294
    If a user shouldnt change anything from "default",then they better remove the option in Avira to select expert mode in the configuration settings also.

    If the programmers who designed or wrote Avira didnt want this to be allowed,I'm sure they would've done something about this a longggg time ago.
     
  15. dell boy

    dell boy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Posts:
    240
    Location:
    uk, england
    avira isnt a nazi party that is doing all it can to stop people updating, if your that determined then you would do it, but by default theyve set it to once per 24 hr, if you set individual tasks then you can, thats totally different to clicking expert mode. "hacking" is often different to what people think of as hackers, they think that hacking is; for example finding a exploit in the american military computer systems and stealing data. it isnt, its just doing something with computers that normally wouldnt be done and using it to your advantage, you will get "ethical hackers" that do hacks, but not on people or computers, but to software or games or anything that isnt violating a huge rule.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.