About A-Squared

Discussion in 'other anti-trojan software' started by TheMozart, Jan 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. falkor

    falkor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Posts:
    205
    Many like it . My opinion is simple , a total waste of money . Woof woof
     
  2. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,142
    :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
     
  3. leofelix

    leofelix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    173
    Location:
    Italy

    LOL:D

    You can always use it the free version.

    And it has not been a waste of money for me... since I won it thanks to a contest;)
     
  4. falkor

    falkor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Posts:
    205

    Oops . Let me rephrase .... A total waste of time and space !:argh:
     
  5. leofelix

    leofelix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    173
    Location:
    Italy
    I see: even my grand father on his Pentium 75 - 800 MB HDD + 16 MB RAM thinks Winpatrol is a waste of space.

    :D
     
  6. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,970
    This is kinda off topic but WinPatrol is no way a waste :thumb:
     
  7. neerajrawat1

    neerajrawat1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    India
    No doubt A-Squared is damn good

    its a very good antivirus + antispyware software m using it with kis for added security
     
  8. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    Re: No doubt A-Squared is damn good

    Yeah, my favorite :D
     
  9. dave88

    dave88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    177
    Winpatrol is not a waste of space imo.

    A-Squared is a pretty good AV, but it flags many, many progs as trojans that are nothing of the kind.
     
  10. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,995
    could someone tell me what the resource usage of version 5 is (at default settings)? I am on Windows 7 Ultimate, 32 bit. thanks
     
  11. cgeek

    cgeek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Posts:
    328
    Here you go acr1956.

    [​IMG]
     
  12. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,808
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Yeh its really is very light now in v5...:)
     
  13. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,995
    Yes very light, thanks for the info.
     
  14. cgeek

    cgeek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Posts:
    328
    Your Welcome! ;)

    Regards,
    Cgeek
     
  15. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    Only had 2 FP on EAM, one was fixed in a few days.
    And just like a week ago ahd one with Adobe .dll, it was fixed within hours after submitting as FP ;)
     
  16. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,529
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    I haven't had many either, maybe one. I just wish they used some kind of scanner caching to speed up scans.
     
  17. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,306
    I have tried A-squared a couple of times. I got too many FPs and have not used it since.

    I don't doubt it will be at the top for detection, but the FP were just too much trouble.

    Where does Mamutu fit in?

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  18. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    Yeah, the only thing i the scanning speed, but i got plenty of time while i sleep :D :thumb:
     
  19. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,808
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Same here....:D
     
  20. pabrate

    pabrate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    685
  21. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
  22. subratam

    subratam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,310
    Location:
    Issaquah, WA
    Greetings,
    Was going through few posts in this topic and wanted to put few words of mine here. Emsisoft AntiMalware (not Asquared anymore) has come a long away and specially in last few months. Those who have been using it will surely love recent changes and those who are thinking of trying it may be in for a nice surprise.
    Emsisoft recently acquired Online Armor, which just makes the product even more enviable. A complete suite as some may say. Regarding FPs, its been a challenge with the product's awesome detection rate, but what better way to prove that challenge is also tackled and the hard work is paying off than Emsisoft's first VB100 award in only second attempt.
    We also have come ahead with a security blog with research from our lab and analysis, a little different approach than security blogs.
     
  23. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,362
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
  24. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,465
    Location:
    UK
    I already use Online Armor and decided to switch the other day from Avira to Emsisoft Anti-Malware (thanks CoU give away). They seems to be running together extremely well.
     
  25. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    Seems like, EAM had a bugged update yesterday, if you-re OS in hanging disable EAM startup in safe mode :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.