About A-Squared

Discussion in 'other anti-trojan software' started by TheMozart, Jan 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jav

    Jav Guest

    He mentioned Online Armor, So it will firewal aswell :p
     
  2. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    theyre not 1 product, A-Squared doesnt offer OA built into their realtime antimalware, and OA++ isnt an A-Squared Suite, its just their AV engine licensed to OA. so currently A2 has no full suite and atm they dont have plans to make one as far as i know.
     
  3. Jav

    Jav Guest

    I know that, I am using it. :)

    I was just quoting him:
     
  4. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    ah ok.
     
  5. zlaki40

    zlaki40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    Macedonia
    I need help to set a-squared to be stronger..
     

    Attached Files:

  6. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I said similar to a suite....obviously its missing a firewall component. PLus some other useless stuff like spam block, tuneup, etc.
     
  7. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    debatable...
     
  8. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    True but how much of that stuff is really needed.
     
  9. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    Actually the Surf Protection is extemely annoying, i disable it.
    But all the other features such as the BB, Scanner etc. is enabled :D
     
  10. LAHarry

    LAHarry Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Posts:
    6
    With Online Armor, I think its too much heavy ,just use those free Firewall from the great brand will be good enough. ASQ alreay got all AV features & very good behavior detections (system firewall).
     
  11. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Online armor is a free firewall. Also it works very well with A-squared. Its not too heavy unless your running a Pentium3 with 512 RAM.
     
  12. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    zlaki, set the first two to block silently, as there are plenty of these.

    tracking cookies = block silently
    Ad tracking = block silently

    All the others = block and notify.

    You could change all the others to 'block silently', but realise if there is no connection to a page, that would be because of surf protection.
     
  13. zlaki40

    zlaki40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    Macedonia

    thank you..:)
     
  14. Cherub

    Cherub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Kentucky
    I got a question about A2 and didn't want to start another thread so thought I would ask it here.

    Is there any difference between the paid A2 and the free A2 as far as what it uses in scanning?

    I have the paid version on a 32bit computer and the free on my 64bit. The paid version caught the "Trojan-Clicker.HTML.IFrame!IK" and from what I can tell, it came from my RSS reader. I use pretty much the same feeds on my 64 bit and didn't get a detection.

    I have no clue at how these things work and was just wondering if somebody could enlighten me.

    If you need anymore info, let me know. BTW, I let A2 delete the file, it wasn't a big deal but want to make sure that if there is no difference in the signatures both versions use, then I'm OK with the 64bit machine also.

    Thanks.
     
  15. Serapis

    Serapis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Posts:
    241
    How effective is A2 free compared to the paid one? (I know that the other autoupdates and has a resident scanner) -- I mean detection wise does A2 free have the Ikarus engine too?

    would having A@ installed and an antivirus cause conflicts?
     
  16. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    scanning wise A2 free and paid are the exact same, only diff is no realtime or mamutu
     
  17. bigwrench9

    bigwrench9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Posts:
    134
    No conflict with AV....Living nicely here,Alongside NIS 2010.
    And alongside Vipre on my Laptop.
     
  18. Serapis

    Serapis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Posts:
    241
    Ive been searching for a2 benchmarking and tests compared to other products with no avail. So how good is it as a antispyware? Im looking for a free product that has outstanding detection rates to complement antivir free. Im looking for something that covers spyware too. suggestions with details are appreciated...
     
  19. bigwrench9

    bigwrench9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Posts:
    134
  20. progress

    progress Guest

    It's tolerable if you turn off the "heuristic scan" option ... :rolleyes:
     
  21. Cherub

    Cherub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Kentucky
    I got another question. I'm running OA++ and A2 anti-malware paid, is there an overlap there? Is there something I can/should disable on either one that would make it better?

    So far, I don't have a problem but if something is overlapping, I'd like to know.

    Oh, this is on XP 32-bit and the computer is about 8 years old.
     
  22. Jav

    Jav Guest

  23. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Online armor uses the 2 scanning engines and has its own hips. A-squared also uses the 2 scanning engines and has mamatu which is a behavior blocker. If your not seeing any conflicts than I wouldn't worry about it.
     
  24. Cherub

    Cherub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Thanks, guys. Appreciate it. I don't seem to see any conflicts, so I'll leave everything alone and not screw up anything. lol
     
  25. Gren

    Gren Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Posts:
    93
    From memory the ++ part of OA uses the engines from A2 to scan with so there is quite a bit of overlap. The OA part is though on demand so heopefully not a problem. I use OA premium with A2 anti-malware and find it a perfect combination.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.