A2 and AVG antispyware free

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Drew99GT, Jul 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Drew99GT

    Drew99GT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Posts:
    338
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    Since the guard.exe needs to run for both of these free versions, even though it consumes such a tiny amount of memory, do you guys notice any slowdown of your machine with these free programs?
     
  2. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    No.

    They didn't use any CPU when they aren't open, and the "guard.exe" only use about 1,3MB of memory...
     
  3. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    For curiousity reasons, why does an on-demand scanner use ram when not in useo_O
     
  4. innerpeace

    innerpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,095
    Location:
    Mountaineer Country
    So they can work with Vista :rolleyes:
     
  5. ccsito

    ccsito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Nation's Capital
  6. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
  7. innerpeace

    innerpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,095
    Location:
    Mountaineer Country
    @ Drew99GT, My a2service.exe is showing 2,988K of memory usage and no cpu time.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.