A test of "proactive apps" dated March 2008

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by bellgamin, Jul 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    The following data for a few proactive apps, dated March 2008, was taken from THIS downloadable xls file which I found out about on THIS webpage.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. dmenace

    dmenace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Posts:
    275
    Wonder why no threatfire? ;)
     
  3. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Me too.
     
  4. chris2busy

    chris2busy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Posts:
    477
    i wonder why kaspersky 7 when kaspersky 8 is about 99 frillion times better than its previous version.lol
     
  5. subset

    subset Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Posts:
    825
    Location:
    Austria
  6. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I omitted the 2 lowest ranking ones {Norton 2008 & Panda 2008} because I wanted a screenie that didn't get shrunk too much, plus I am prejudiced against NAV Pandas -- I MUCH prefer USMC Koalas. (I support the right to arm bears.)

    But seriously -- as to Norton Antibot's impressive showing: isn't it absolutely identically the same as Primary Response SafeConnect (PRSC)? If so, my interest in trialing PRSC has increased exponentially.
     
  7. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    It is in line with my experience (I have lisences for all to play with ;) )

    TF best coverage, near zero FP

    PRSC good coverage, zero FP's with my test set

    Mamutu/A2 coverage between TF and PRSV, with a lot of pop-ups, but with community voting still more (unsuffucient community stats) FP's than TF

    Performance of PRSC on Vista with LUA is better, because lesser threats (worms) are covered by LUA

    Off topic: although not a behavioral blocker it has some behavioral aspects the HIPS of Rising is a good cross over between traditional HIPS, behavior blocking and seperate source/target protection (access control, application protection and startup control).

    In combination with Rising FW, it performs as good as D+ (except recursive DNS and pseudo COM protection=elevation control), while being very silent (also the log of both is great)

    By the way I bought PRSC for 30 dollars = 20 euro at the time (the only BehavBlock for Vista64 users)
     
  8. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    BTW anyone has an idea which one is more smooth n lighter, TF or PRSC?
     
  9. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    If we accpet it true then KAV 7 must be rather junk.
     
  10. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    PRSC is lighter, when you check monitored programs, check for non greens and allow trusted programs like nvidea

    TF achieves same near zero FP's and has a wider protection (I guess that is what you mean by smoother)
     
  11. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Thanks. From smoother I meant, without any glitches, occasional CPU spikes, hangs etc.
     
  12. Sportscubs1272

    Sportscubs1272 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Posts:
    340
    Norton Antibot is a clone of PRSC, but with different colors between them? TF seems to have a conflict with Firefox when I update the extensions. I have been using the Antibot program on my laptop because of that.
     
  13. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    What happens when you update extensions? I haven't had any trouble with TF and extensions so far *knocking on nearby wood*.
     
  14. Sportscubs1272

    Sportscubs1272 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Posts:
    340
    It says 'Firefox could not install the file at addons.mozilla.org

    because unexpected installation error. -203.

    Works fine when I suspend TF and update my extensions and turn on TF back up again.

    There's a few of them in the TF forum that had the same problem or problems.
     
  15. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Hmm, guess I just got lucky then, no problems with that here.
     
  16. Firebytes

    Firebytes Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    903
    I have never had any problems updating FF extension with TF running either but I have heard of others who have. I think it just depends on the system. For instance I have two computers that are basically set up the same. On one computer a program called LockNote works fine with TF running. On the other computer I have to suspend TF to run LockNote.
     
  17. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,490
    Location:
    Armacham
    @ Belgamin, thank very much for posting this and Subset(cool name), how do i traslate this website in eglish? i wanna read the full article.
     
  18. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
  19. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Use Google -- "Translate a web page" is near the bottom of that Google page.

    Or use Babel.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.