A-Squared Anti-Malware

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by jpcummins, Jan 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jpcummins

    jpcummins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    421
    Location:
    Terre Haute, IN
    I downloaded this software when it was offered by "Give Away Of The Day" some time back. It seems to me that it detects a large number of sites as possible problem sites when in fact they are safe sites. I am about to the point that I am considering removing it from my system. I would appreciate hearing from members also using this software and I would appreciate other forum members thoughts as to should I or should I not remove it?

    As always I will appreciate any and all replies and would thank you in advance.

    John
     
  2. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    If your only issue with A2AM is with the Surf Protection,which is,by default quite aggressive,it can be modified/disabled in the Background Guard settings:
     

    Attached Files:

  3. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    if you dont have another security solution at the moment and dont want to pay for i will advise to keep it:D it is good and the database is huge a monster database and the mamutu engine in it are you crazy man:) ;)
    this is a malware killer despite the blocking of safe sites:)
     
  4. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    Yeah, probably the surf protection was the cause of it :D

    TRUE!!
     
  5. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    757
    I bought mine 4 years ago and still run it all the time
     
  6. kmr1685

    kmr1685 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Posts:
    62
    baby it does not matter what proggy you are using:D but try to tune the proggy according to your need;) and a2am is really good IMO, i like add my two cents nothing else.:p
     
  7. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    Can I use a-square as my Anti Virus program?

    Or do I need an AV in addition to a-square?
     
  8. QBgreen

    QBgreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Posts:
    627
    Location:
    Queens County, NY

    Yes, it's a full-fledged anti-malware (including a strong AV, Ikarus). You won't need to run another on access AV.
     
  9. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    That is wonderful news!

    Because I don't need to have a-squared running in memory taking up resources. And only run it when I want to scan something.

    Ok, I will use a-squared as my new Anti Virus program and remove Avira and NOD32.

    Thanks.
     
  10. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    @TheMozart dont forget you need a real time protection so it is better you leave it's services activated all the time for surfing protection and drive by download attacks;)
     
  11. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    I have Vista UAC on, so I cannot get drive by downloads as it cannot save and install with UAC on.
     
  12. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    814
  13. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    very interesting :thumb: thanks
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.