A-Squared Anti-Malware

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by jpcummins, Jan 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jpcummins

    jpcummins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    460
    Location:
    Terre Haute, IN
    I downloaded this software when it was offered by "Give Away Of The Day" some time back. It seems to me that it detects a large number of sites as possible problem sites when in fact they are safe sites. I am about to the point that I am considering removing it from my system. I would appreciate hearing from members also using this software and I would appreciate other forum members thoughts as to should I or should I not remove it?

    As always I will appreciate any and all replies and would thank you in advance.

    John
     
  2. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    If your only issue with A2AM is with the Surf Protection,which is,by default quite aggressive,it can be modified/disabled in the Background Guard settings:
     

    Attached Files:

  3. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,890
    Location:
    Canada
    if you dont have another security solution at the moment and dont want to pay for i will advise to keep it:D it is good and the database is huge a monster database and the mamutu engine in it are you crazy man:) ;)
    this is a malware killer despite the blocking of safe sites:)
     
  4. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,488
    Yeah, probably the surf protection was the cause of it :D

    TRUE!!
     
  5. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    818
    I bought mine 4 years ago and still run it all the time
     
  6. kmr1685

    kmr1685 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Posts:
    62
    baby it does not matter what proggy you are using:D but try to tune the proggy according to your need;) and a2am is really good IMO, i like add my two cents nothing else.:p
     
  7. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    Can I use a-square as my Anti Virus program?

    Or do I need an AV in addition to a-square?
     
  8. QBgreen

    QBgreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Posts:
    627
    Location:
    Queens County, NY

    Yes, it's a full-fledged anti-malware (including a strong AV, Ikarus). You won't need to run another on access AV.
     
  9. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    That is wonderful news!

    Because I don't need to have a-squared running in memory taking up resources. And only run it when I want to scan something.

    Ok, I will use a-squared as my new Anti Virus program and remove Avira and NOD32.

    Thanks.
     
  10. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,890
    Location:
    Canada
    @TheMozart dont forget you need a real time protection so it is better you leave it's services activated all the time for surfing protection and drive by download attacks;)
     
  11. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    I have Vista UAC on, so I cannot get drive by downloads as it cannot save and install with UAC on.
     
  12. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    815
  13. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,890
    Location:
    Canada
    very interesting :thumb: thanks
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.