A simple reliable backup app.

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by twl845, Mar 20, 2015.

  1. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I want to do full backups periodically to an external HD, that I can use to restore my computer if needed. No incrementals or definitions, just full backups and user friendly. Can anyone point me to a reliable app? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,048
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    TWL845, Brian K has been studiously testing all kinds of imaging apps to determine which can successfully do what you require... especially if a new disk is needed.

    See his most recent POST here...

    I believe "EaseUS ToDO" and "AOMEI Backupper" are probably the easiest to use as far as an intuitive UI is concerned.
     
  3. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Hey thanks Frog :)
     
  4. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,048
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    ...and they're both FREE!!
     
  5. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I'm checking them out now. It looks like Aomei might be the easiest to navigate, as I am looking the review over.
     
  6. Kurtis Smejkal

    Kurtis Smejkal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Posts:
    253
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Kurtis from Horizon Data Sys

    We offer Drive Cloner Rx, which can create an image file of your hard drive. This might be of interest to you, and if you use RollBack Rx Home Edition freeware (or wish to spring for the Pro version) you can back up your snapshots from that as well in the near future.

    Any other questions, you can always email me at my email below.

    Cheers,
     
  7. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,024
    Location:
    USA
    According to your signature you already have Macrium Reflect, so I'm wondering why you feel a need for something else? :confused:
     
  8. ssbtech

    ssbtech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Posts:
    57
    Location:
    Canada
    Anyone have any experience with the "Clickfree" backup drives?
     
  9. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I am just looking for something a lot more simple to use while I learn the new Version 6 of Macrium and how to use it to my advantage. I'm not a pro so it doesn't come easy for me. I don't leave my computer running 24/7, so at this point I don't know how I can use the scheduling feature. A full backup once a week is ok for me as I see it so far. I would like to have more than one backup app to fall back on any way. I use Raxco Instant Recovery for local backup and a quick snapshot to recover to also.
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2015
  10. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,046
    HI twl845

    You don't need your computer on 24/7 to use macriums scheduling. I set one machine to take backups on the hour from 9-5. The other one I schedule hourly's from 9-2 and then one at 5. Also I make them all incrementals except the last one is a differential. Also I use two different definition files to back up to a different location, but no schedule on that one.

    I also back up with Instant REcovery Archives.

    Pete
     
  11. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Hi Pete

    OK thanks for the heads up. What about your external drive which is the destination for your backups? I will have to plug that in before the first backup is due at 9:00am, and let it run the whole time period that backups are scheduled to run. Then wait for it to be safe to unplug as to not lose anything every time. :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2015
  12. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,046

    Ah. Both my desktops have 3 internal drives so all my scheduled backups go to the other internal drives. So I just occasionally do full backups to an external drive as a safety measure, but that's just very occasional. If I ever have to use them I also use Instant recovery to bring myself current.
     
  13. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    466
    Location:
    Ojai, CA
    I totally agree. Just don't try to use them together. They mess up each other. I did that until AOMEI had an update which messed up EaseUS.
     
  14. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,046
    Interesting, I've trialed EaseUs and never had a successful restore, although I don't remember if I had AOMEI on board at that time.
     
  15. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    This is an important point. Ime it is prudent to make a new complete backup before trying a new imaging program. For incomplete uninstalls, cross file corruptions etc. can happen easily with such deep access program types.
     
  16. appster

    appster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    530
    Location:
    Paradise (Hawaii)
    I find that remark quite curious. I've just been using Todo Backup v8.x since January but over that time I've performed several restores of sector-by-sector system backups using Todo and each of those restores were perfect (on a Rollback Rx system)! That said, I must admit I haven't attempted any other kind of Todo backup/restore. Do you recall which version of Todo Backup you were using when your restores failed?
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2015
  17. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    466
    Location:
    Ojai, CA
    No No No

    I have no problem with EaseUSo todo backup. I use the PAID version on all four computers every morning. I am up to V8.2 now.

    Here's what happened: One morning when I went to use EaseUS, I got a message saying that there was a driver issue and I should reinstall EaseUS. I did that and all was well. I was running AOMEI on the same computer just for safety reasons. When I went to run AOMEI I only saw graphics on the UI- no fonts.

    So, I went to computer number two, I got the same message from EaseUS and of course, the same problem with AOMEI.

    This all started by an update was due for AOMEI the day before and the fun began. The update corrupted the driver in EaseUS and no idea what corrupted AOMEI.

    I am now using Macrium Reflect as my secondary back up program but would love to be able to use AOMEI because of it's simplicity.

    Yes, that's the same reason I prefer EaseUS.
     
  18. appster

    appster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    530
    Location:
    Paradise (Hawaii)
    Although they operate quite differently, I found AOMEI Backupper and EaseUS Todo equally easy to use (I did not have them installed at the same time so I can't comment on any potential conflict). Between the two I prefer EaseUS Todo Backup because of its image-merging feature.
     
  19. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,046

    For me it's Yes Yes Yes. I've trialed EaseUS twice and both time restores failed, what can I say
     
  20. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    466
    Location:
    Ojai, CA
    Yes, separately they are perfect. I really should just use EaseUS but since the backup for each is on lt about 5 minutes I'll continue to use what I have.
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2015
  21. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    466
    Location:
    Ojai, CA
    Yep, I understand.

    I have only needed 3 restores since I have had Windows 7 (Since May 2012).

    BUT I run two backup programs in case one of them fails.

    It would kill me to have to reinstall everything.:(
     
  22. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Hi jadinolf,
    I just installed Aomei and did a full backup to try it out. It took an hour which is what it takes using Macrium. I assume when you say 5 minutes your talking about an incremental?
     
  23. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,048
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    TWL845, without some specifics on either yours or Jadinoff's rig (type of storage being imaged, size being imaged, interfaces used, how much of the storage is "used" data vs total size), it's like comparing apples to oranges as far as imaging time is concerned.

    Examples...

    Imaging a slightly used SSD to another SATA-based SSD will be brutally fast.
    Imaging a huge HDD partition with lots of used space to a USB2-based HDD will be brutally slow (in comparison).

    Really hard to compare...
     
  24. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Hi Frog, I see what you mean. I thought the difference between 5 minutes and 60 minutes would show the difference between an incremental which usually takes me about 5 minutes using AXTM, and a full backup of about 89GB on my HDD. So I guess it is as you say, like apples and oranges. I'm not complaining about the 60 minutes, I just wondered what type of backup he was doing to get 5 minutes.
     
  25. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    466
    Location:
    Ojai, CA
    No, full backup. Not much on the SSD (40G) and fairly fast CPU. Reflect is even faster.
     
Loading...