A question about outpost free firewall.

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by The Red Moon, Dec 4, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    Hi,
    I understand the outpost free standalone firewall is quite outdated now.
    If i did a custom install of the free security suite and just installed the firewall does this get updated quite often or is it ok as it is?

    Ive never tried outpost and would like to try the free firewall.
    Any help or suggestions with this please.?
    Thanks.;)
     
  2. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,068
    The free version is actually almost 2 years old (April 04, 2011), it's outpost 7.1.1 and this is what you get when you install it, no updates to new versions, until they decide to release one.

    Free alternatives, comodo, OA, privatefw...
     
  3. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    Thanks lordraiden.
    I was using the comodo firewall and i love it but i would like to run it alongside avast and not the comodo av.Apparently there is a problem between the avast webshield and comodo firewall and this is why im not using it.
     
  4. jo3blac1

    jo3blac1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Posts:
    739
    Location:
    U.S.
    Avast and Outpost FW Pro don't like each other either. I don't know about Outpost FW Free.
     
  5. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Didn't comodo fix this in v5.12?
     
  6. arsenaloyal

    arsenaloyal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Posts:
    507
    its the avast web shield that cause the problem,just disable it and both work pretty well.
     
  7. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    Sorry but i would disagree with you.You should not have to disable anything to get security software to work or you have weakened it already.
    The avast web shield is one of the most important components in avast and i have no intention of disabling it.:ninja:
     
  8. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,068
    Outpost have also a webshield so probably what you need to do is disable the outpost webshield or maybe there is no solution. You don't get any benefit only problems having 2 things doing the same.
     
  9. arsenaloyal

    arsenaloyal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Posts:
    507
    disabling something does not necessarily weaken the protection, both avast and OFP have webshield components and i believe if you have avast or any AV installed prior to installing OFP,the outpost setup gives you the option to disable its webshield.
    When both things are doing the same thing conflicts are bound to happen.

    OFP has a more robust and configurable webshield than most antiviruses IMO.
     
  10. jo3blac1

    jo3blac1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Posts:
    739
    Location:
    U.S.
    Yup I love it. It's a passive protection so takes no extra resources from the computer. If and when I go with Avast then I will probably disable everything except for the core antivirus.
     
  11. Romagnolo1973

    Romagnolo1973 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Posts:
    518
    Location:
    Italy - Ravenna
    Beethoven problem solved: Outpost free is a painfull suite and you can't do a custom install, you have to use all (FW+Hips+AV) or nothing. No possibility of disabling a part of the suite, that is realy not a suite but a kind of a single program.
    Outpost pro is a different story, you can choose what installing and what disabling.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.