a question about outpost firewall 7?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by siberianwolf, Jul 9, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. siberianwolf

    siberianwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    516
    hi
    i've decided to test outpost fw 7 and it's been 1 day since i installed it. my question is:
    when i use any one of my privacy cleaner/eraser softwares, at some point, op fw gives a pop-up warning telling me that the cleaner app is trying to modify another app or thing, and asking me whether i'd like to add this cleaner app as an exception to "application guard's exclusions list". should i allow it to add those privacy apps to exclusions, or it'd be unsafe/dangerous to do that?
    thanks.
    p.s.: normally, i don't use a sw fw, this is for testing purpose only.
     
  2. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses


    This type of pop -up is normal when first using a SW FW.

    What you need to do is answer if you want to allow these powers to your cleaner tools.

    Do you know trust these tools? If you have used them before they have already done these tasks it is just that now you know!

    If you got them from a reputable vendor the approval should be okay.

    A name of the cleaner product would help.
     
  3. siberianwolf

    siberianwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    516
    thank you for your reply. the name is privacy eraser.
    what i'm concerned about is whether i should allow this sw to modify ie's parts in order to let it complete its job rather than confirming its reputation.
    i think it's not a harmful sw. so in this case, should i allow op fw to add this sw to its exclusion list?
    thanks
     
  4. mrgigabyte

    mrgigabyte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Posts:
    125
    just allow it i have r wipe and clean and i had to allow that too the firewall is just doing its job
    it is a great firewall i have a lic for the pro version lifetime lic for 3 computers
    just to give you some info i have windows 7 64 bit and windows 7 32 bit and xp 32 bit and all three run great and been very happy using outpost i got a lifetime lic last year hope that helps you a little
     
  5. tekkaman

    tekkaman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Posts:
    164
    Well since this topic is about questions :p I have one too. I'm having alerts often about ctfmon modifing aplication memory. The thing is I need ctfmon on. Because I play japanese games often. To shut it off I turned off process memory injection alerts. Is it ok to do that or is theres another way to suppress alerts about ctfmon ?
     
  6. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses

    Based on what you have said here I would allow it.

    Then make sure the FW rule for it blocks all incoming packets.

    then put the ip address for updates in the outgoing rule.
     
  7. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses

    Yes that should work.

    The ctfmon saga goes back a number of years. I remove it from my setup completley as i don't need it's functions.

    IF I had it as an exe, I would rule restrain it so it can run but not use the www in or out.
     
  8. cqpreson

    cqpreson Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Posts:
    348
    Location:
    China
    This type of software should be trusted.Because you have used it and nothing bad happened.No reason to suspect.
     
  9. siberianwolf

    siberianwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    516
    thank you all, guys. you've been very helpful. esp. escalader & mrgigabyte thanks a lot.
    cheers
     
  10. tekkaman

    tekkaman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Posts:
    164
    Tell me about it. I actually tried removing it too. But when I did I couldn't play at all :p Will the computer be too much less protected by turning off process memory modification monitor ?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.