A Problem![Hard Drives]

Discussion in 'hardware' started by marse.robert, Feb 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. marse.robert

    marse.robert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Posts:
    255
    Location:
    Langar: Nottinghamshire: UK
    Hi all,
    I fuuly realise that this Forum is for a specific use, I am, however, in a mess. If anyone has a solution please PM me.

    I have, or did have, three WD Raptors of which, two were configured in a Raid array. I do not know what happend, but the "stripe" became somewhat unstriped. One of the disks is fine. The other is only showing a small proportion of its original size. I have tried all I know to restore the missing part to no avail.
    I ran Spinright and the part that is missing cannot be reached. I think that the MBR of that part of the drive is corrupted. If there are any hard drive experts around?

    Marserobert
     
  2. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
    Hello,
    What happened to the third drive? What kind of raid are you using?
    Mrk
     
  3. marse.robert

    marse.robert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Posts:
    255
    Location:
    Langar: Nottinghamshire: UK
    Hi MRK

    The 3rd drive is fine. The raid was a "striped" configuration. One of the two Raptors was formatted and is fine. The second disk in the array is recognised as one of the partitions of that drive of approximately 40 Gb. I have formatted that Part. The other part of the drive keeps showing "Partition Table error."
    The raid confuration was completed bt Windows.

    Marserobert
     
  4. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,549
    Hi marse.robert,

    If I am not mistaken I think that you can delete the raid array and recreate it again; without deleting any data. The stripe set is kept seperately from the data.

    Just delete the array and recreate it in your raid bios and you should be fine.;)

    ATTENTION: you must rebuild the array with the exact same settings you had before.

    Panagiotis
     
  5. marse.robert

    marse.robert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Posts:
    255
    Location:
    Langar: Nottinghamshire: UK
    Hi pandlouk,

    Followed your advice: smack on the button!

    Thanks a million.


    Marserobert
     
  6. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,549
    you are welcome. :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.