A Pre-sales question

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by PTS, May 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PTS

    PTS Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    I have a small office environment with 4 XP PC's and a 500GB Iomega Network Hard Drive - Iomega
    My questions is, are either the TI 9.1 Workstation or the TI 10 products capable of backing up the Iomega network drive? I've looked through the information on the Acronis web site but am unable to find an answer to this question.

    Thanks
    Brad
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 3, 2007
  2. AaronAnderson

    AaronAnderson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Posts:
    65
    Yes, absolutely!
     
  3. PTS

    PTS Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks AA and thanks LWM for fixing my post.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello PTS,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please note that as AaronAnderson said Acronis True Image (any edition) is able to back up to (restore from) network drives, like Iomega.

    I would also recommend that you have a look at Acronis True Image 10.0 Home and Acronis True Image 9.1 Workstation comparison page, which may help you to make a decision.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  5. PTS

    PTS Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks Aleksandr for your reply.

    I am aware that a network drive can serve as the backup target (or the source when performing restores) but I want to know are the Acronis True Image 10.0 Home or the Acronis True Image 9.1 Workstation products capable of BACKING UP this Iomega network drive?

    I've reviewed the comparison page and the data sheet for these products but this isn't mentioned.

    Thanks,
    Brad
     
  6. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Download the trial version and test it.
     
  7. PTS

    PTS Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Tom - Thank you for your well reasoned and thought out response to my inquiry. However it doesn't answer my basic question - can the Acronis image software BACKUP the Iomega network drive? YES :thumb: or NO :thumbd:.

    I'm certainly capable of doing as you suggest and giving the trial version a spin but I first wanted to see if others on this forum have 'been there and done that' . . . or even get a definite answer from an Acronis representative.

    Thanks,
    Brad
     
  8. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Hi Aleksandr,

    Note that the question was can TI installed on one of the PCs backup the files stored on the Iomega network drive.

    He didn't ask whether he could backup TO the drive but whether he could backup the Iomega network drive to another drive on the network.

    That's a very different question, and I hope you can answer him.
     
  9. mfabien

    mfabien Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Posts:
    227
    Location:
    Montreal
    As far as I know, any drive seen by Acronis can be used as a target to or from.

    In the first days I used ATI 10, when doing a backup to my USB drive, I put a check mark on both my internal drive and my USB drive resulting in a backup of the backups resulting with monstrous image files! So backing up a backup target drive is possible.

    The only possible problem could be using the Acronis Rescue CD which uses Linux as an operating system and may or may not have a driver for the Iomega drive. But I would expect the BartPE CD with Acronis plugin to be able to access the Iomega drive.
     
  10. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    PTS,

    I think you're asking if you can create a backup image of the Iomega (NAS) drive, just like you could make an image backup of an internal drive. As far as I know you can only to image backups of NAS devices if you can install Acronis Agent on it. Take a look at this thread. Maybe searching for "agent" or "NAS" would help if you haven't tried those.

    You ought to be able to do a "files & folders" backup of the device since it should show up under the network drives.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.