a² modifying programs?

Discussion in 'other anti-trojan software' started by WSFuser, Dec 24, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Im not sure if this has been discussed or not, but when i had a² personal installed on my pc, during windows startup processguard told me the a² guard was trying to modify (several) files. is this some sort of ads stream tagging like kav does or wut?
     
  2. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    A log file from PG would help ;)

    regards,

    paul
     
  3. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    here is actually an example of a2 try to exterminate an app:

    "Thu 02 - 07:20:21 [TERMINATE] c:\program files\a2\a2guard.exe [1284] was blocked from terminating c:\windows\system32\smss.exe [404]"

    I found that numerous times, but i was unable to find any examples of modification. I dont have a2 nemore so i cant replicate the problemand search my logs again.
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2004
  4. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Not even from PG? Anyway, it's fairly impossible to check things out without a log file.

    regards.

    paul
     
  5. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    i actually found my logs as my edited post has shown.
     
  6. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    this isnt a picture of wut happended on my pc, but i hope it will help.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Looks like some hooking at first glance - not enough info available to comment in depth.

    I've dropped Andreas Haak from A2 an email to comment over here in this thread. Could take some days, Xmas coming up.

    regards,

    paul
     
  8. Huwge

    Huwge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Posts:
    405
    Location:
    UK
    Seems a few problems lately with A2, hopefullly they will soon be resolved. At the moment I cannot use the program..as per my post lower down
     
  9. Andreas Haak

    Andreas Haak Guest

    Wel Paul is right. In order to install the protection mechanism on already running processes a² has to change diffrent processes (code injection). Newly started processes aren't affected cause a driver will do the job. Just put a2guard.exe to the list of allowed/trusted applications.
     
  10. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    thanx for the response
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.