A message from Acronis

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by John Dalton, Mar 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. John Dalton

    John Dalton Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Posts:
    40
    Location:
    London
    I've just received an email from Acronis regarding the new build (4940) and a a couple of things puzzle me.

    Firstly, the wording suggests downloading the new build and then installing it. However, a number of posts on this forum have suggested that uninstalling the old build first is best. Which is the best advice to follow?

    Secondly, and I'm not trying to have a dig at Acronis here, but the following sentence (under the heading Known Issues and Limitations) doesn't make sense to me. Can anyone explain in simpler language?

    If you save full backups in Backup Location only and the very first backup exceeds the time limitation, all backups will be deleted instead of the first one.
     
  2. CatFan432

    CatFan432 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Posts:
    333
    Location:
    Topeka, KS, US
    John,
    What I do when updating TI is make a current system image, then install the new build over the old one. If everything looks OK, great. If anything looks not quite right, I'll do an uninstall and then a clean install of the new build. In my case, when I installed 4940 over 4871, the help-about screen still showed 4871, so I did a clean install.

    As for this sentence, I think the attached illustration may clear things up.
     

    Attached Files:

    • PS39.jpg
      PS39.jpg
      File size:
      46.5 KB
      Views:
      382
  3. jaydub

    jaydub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Posts:
    75
    Well I've just installed as a clean install and I still get 4871 showing in the about screen.
     
  4. CatFan432

    CatFan432 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Posts:
    333
    Location:
    Topeka, KS, US
    jaydub,
    I saw your other post on this. In my case, I've gotten to the point that when I want to uninstall TI, I remove every trace of it I can find, including registry entries, as I don't think the uninstall program is very thorough. When I do this I have to reset my backup locations (after manually deleting the previous script files) and scheduled tasks. This is just my solution. You may want to wait for further posts, as my technical knowledge isn't real high. It's very possible that Acronis just neglected to update the build number and all is fine with the update. -CF
     
  5. jaydub

    jaydub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Posts:
    75
    I working on that assumption for the time being. :doubt:
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    I just uninstalled TI 10 (build 4,871), rebooted and installed build 4,940 and it shows the correct build (4,940) in the Help/About box.
     
  7. jaydub

    jaydub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Posts:
    75
    I have managed to upgrade successfully to 4940 as well, but only after stopping an Acronis scheduler process that was still running after an uninstall and reboot.

    Once the residual processes had been removed, it installed correctly.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.