A little question about TrueImage.

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by mamister, Jan 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mamister

    mamister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Hi all, I am trying out trueimage and realised that it couldn't read hidden partition like Symantec Ghost can?

    Each time I have to use disk director to unhide the partition before I can restore the image. Is there a way to overcome this?
     
  2. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Could you perhaps post a screen shot of what TI shows?

    So long as you choose DISK imaging, the list should show.

    I attach a screenshot of TI under partition selection, scroll to the right and you'll see what I see with Windows Disk Management and the File manager software I use..

    Now my Disk one was set up by using OSS from DD10, (which never worked satisfactorily) which is why part of the boot files are shown as being on the hidden partition of XP Test setup. I mention it only from the fact that this 'incorrectness' may be why my system works.

    On the XP test etc partition I have Echo Enterprise and that also sees the hidden partitions of XP Pro and Win2K.

    I've just had a thought - although they are hidden, they are visible in Windows Disk Management, are yours?

    Colin
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,644
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    bodgy,

    You must be getting lots of rain from that low pressure system too. Miserable.

    Your partitions are interesting. In Disk Management your "XP Test setup" and "Win2K" partitions don't have drive letters but aren't Hidden in the classical sense as they don't show Pri, Hid in DDS. It's a Microsoft multi-boot in that you have a Boot and a System partition.

    In Disk Management a Hidden partition shows a Healthy (Unknown Partition).



    mamister,

    Can you see the Hidden partition from the TI boot CD? It's annoying if you can't see it from TI in Windows because that prevents a restore of your other OS from your running WinXP.
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2008
  4. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    I'm one of those wierdos who likes rain, but not humidity.

    Yes I thought my strange way of 'hiding' might be the reason - strangely it was OSS that caused that after I uninstalled it, before they had been standard hidden partitions.

    Colin
     
  5. mamister

    mamister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Thanks for all replys.

    This is what i tried:

    1. Create a acronis bootable cd using the boot media builder.
    2. Boot to cd, create a partition and hide it using disk director.
    3. When I try to use true image to create a backup image of my c drive into the hidden partition, it is not visible in the destination drive selection.
    4. Next I exit and boot up using symantec ghost diskette and I could backup image to the hidden partition as it is visible in this software.

    Anyone else tried this?
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,644
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    mamister,

    I just had a look with a TI ver 9 boot CD. I can see my hidden OS partition for normal backup/restore purposes.

    I can't create a backup image of a normal partition with the hidden partition as the destination. I agree it can be done with DOS Ghost.
     
  7. mamister

    mamister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    I just tried with Drive image boot disk too can be done.
     
  8. thraxx78

    thraxx78 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    I believe Acronis piggy backs on windows drivers when creating the image in the OS. So if windows doesn't see the hidden partition then it wont either.
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello mamister,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please be aware that, as thraxx78 noted, when running in Windows Acronis True Image uses Windows drivers to work with hardware, and will not see any hidden partition except Acronis Secure Zone.

    You can find the detailed instructions on how to use Acronis True Image Home in the respective User's Guide.

    If you have any further questions concerning Acronis software, please feel free to submit a request for technical support or post any of them on this forum. We will certainly try to help you in resolving any issues.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.