A little nervous about restore.

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by First Timer, Jul 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. First Timer

    First Timer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Posts:
    18
    I am a little nervous about doing a restore. My HHD crashed and I want to restore the backup to and external hard drive that the backup is currently on. How can I do it. If it is a complete backup or clone backup will it erase the the backup information that is on the EHDD. Will it be bootable from the EHDD or will I need to install the OS on the EHDD. Thank you. Many questions to follow in an sure.
     
  2. Earthling

    Earthling Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    604
    Location:
    UK
    You have to restore an image to the same disk or partition it was taken from. No point at all restoring it to an external drive as it will overwrite anything that's there at present, and it wouldn't be bootable either.

    Having said that, I can understand you being nervous. When you restore an image to a partition the first thing it does is delete the existing partition, so if the restore then fails you are left with nothing.

    Before committing a restore it's best first to validate the image. If it validates OK you then either have to risk clicking Proceed, or fit a spare disk and do it to that first. You need to boot to the Rescue CD to do this.
     
  3. Wandering2

    Wandering2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    110
    You can restore to an external hard drive, and then remove it from the case, and temporarily replace your boot drive with it. If it boots, you have what you want. Then you can either put the original boot drive into the case instead of the external, or swap back to the original. It's a bit of fuss, but it works.
     
  4. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Since your drive crashed, you have to get a replacement. When you get this and install it in place of the crashed drive, then the next thing to do is boot with the True Image bootable CD (you made one, didn't you?) and use the Recovery feature to restore the Backup that you have on the External to the new drive.
     
  5. jonyjoe81

    jonyjoe81 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Posts:
    829
    If your external is divided into several partitions and you have the available space you can do what you want. Just make sure you restore the correct partition.

    For instance you have an external drive with 2 partition (partition A and partition B). If your backup TIB is saved on partition B, you can restore it on partition A. But any data that was on partition A will be overwritten, so move that data over to partition B before you restore.
     
  6. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Maybe I'm misunderstanding what Earthling is saying but if not, then what Earthiling is saying is not true. You can restore to diff partition/hdisk and you can restore to an externally connected hdrive: You restore to an externally conected drive; shut down; Swap the externally mounted drive for the old system drive, reboot and restored image should boot.

    If you reboot with both drives connected, windows will mark one of the dirve the system drive and one the boot drive, not necessarrily the same drive and not necessarily the drive you want -- so after restoring a system drive, shutdown and remove one of the "system drives" before rebooting.

     
  7. Earthling

    Earthling Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    604
    Location:
    UK
    It was a bad reply, must admit, but all I was trying to get across to the OP was that you can't restore an image of your OS to the external drive that contains the image - not if it isn't partitioned anyway, and it doesn't sound as if it is.

    Seems to me, if his internal drive is wrecked, that he can't use his external drive at all other than as image source, and will need to install a replacement internal drive and restore to that using the rescue CD.
     
  8. First Timer

    First Timer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Posts:
    18
    Thanks for all the advise. I have tried them as well as other options. Every time I try to restore I get the ERROR 1422 message and Yes, I have checked the task scheduler and it is set to automatic and I have tried to remove and reinstall Acronis 2209 several times but I still get the same error messasge. When I try to do the restore and use the same partitions The first disk always shows a comment in red (reboot required). Of course it will reboot but is some how that the problem and how can it be changed. I guess at this point I am just brain dead. I am still needing help so Thanks again and keep the comments comming. I will let you know if and how I get it restored.
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello First Timer,

    Thank you for using Acronis Products

    Can you please clarify the exact title of the program and the build number? First of all please make sure that you are using the latest build of the program. Check it in Help -> About. You can always download the latest build of the program from your account under Registered Products.

    If the issue persists as workaround I may recommend you create Acronis bootable disc by means of Media Builder within the program and use it to restore the image. Let us know the results.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
  10. First Timer

    First Timer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Posts:
    18
    The program is True Image 2009 build number 9786. I will check out the Media Builder bootable disk. At this point I do not know how to do that. Thank you.
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2009
  11. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
  12. First Timer

    First Timer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Posts:
    18
    Thanks for the replies and links. I have tried the restore from my rescue cd and it has been restoring for 4 days now and finally says restore successful, but it will not boot. It locks up and says missing boot mgr. I will try to figure this out it appears that this was caused from restoring to a new larger size HHD. Oh the orginial HDD was 120 GB and the new one is 320GB. FYI.
     
  13. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    check line 3 of my signature below. It is not for the most current version but the restore procedure is still the same.
    1. Remove old drive and put the new drive in same place.
    2. Boot from Rescue CD.
    3. Perform restore.
    4. Shutdown and reboot with only the new drive attached.
     
  14. First Timer

    First Timer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Posts:
    18

    thank you, I will start another restore and remove the TI boot disk this time before the first reboot after restore and keep you advised. Thanks. Is it normal to take four days for a 120 GB restore?
     
  15. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    No. That's a really long time. You should get at least 1GB/min. from a USB drive and up to 4GB/min (or more) from an internal drive. That would be about two hours at the most. Usually, when this happens it's because the Linux drivers aren't correctly supporting the computer's chipset/controllers.

    Have you tried the quiet acpi=off noapic option detailed in Section II of the PLEASE READ BEFORE YOU POST thread?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.