A game running as Admin?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by amarildojr, Mar 3, 2016.

  1. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,977
    Location:
    Brasil
    I've had this doubt a few years ago when I bought the game GTR2.

    For some odd reason, it must be run with Administrator privileges. I know this is dangerous for other kinds of programs, but since I don't use the Multiplayer, it's not possible for me to be exploited through this Sim (at least not online). However, I still want to run it as a regular user; how can I do that? I gave a brief look at it's properties and the box about "Run as Admin" is already ticked off.
     
  2. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,239
    I doubt you can run it as a regular user. It shouldn't be a security risk though.
     
  3. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,977
    Location:
    Brasil
    Thanks.

    I couldn't find any info on WHY it runs as Admin.
     
  4. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    USA
    It's probably installed to "Program Files" or similar and the permissions aren't explicitly set for you to have write access to the files. It could also need to write to HKLM in the registry, something else that would require admin or some tedious registry changes. It really shouldn't be a big deal to go ahead and run it admin. If there is something else on your machine that can exploit it, you're already hosed.
     
  5. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,977
    Location:
    Brasil
    It's actually the other way around. Steam's files can be modified as the user wishes :D
    But I didn't mention Steam, so my apologies.

    Interesting theory, thanks.
     
  6. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    722
    In any case this is another example why Windows is so much exposed to malware. That a game (or any other normal application) needs admin rights is insane and inconceivable on Linux. It confirms that many programmers under Windows still don't care about security.
     
  7. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,239
    @summerheat It was released in 2006 when XP was the current version of Windows, before there was UAC, and I guess most users then had admin accounts. If it was released after Vista was released, it would most likely not need admin rights.

    But, I do agree that Vista is more secure
     
  8. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    722
    Okay, thanks!
     
  9. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,126
    Don't most games need admin rights under Windows?
    To run in full screen, for ex., they need control over the monitor; and disk access to read parts of the game and send it to RAM.
     
  10. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    No. Generally only old games.
     
  11. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,126
    How come?
    Even if they are installed under Steam the .exe files are still there, and the necessary permissions.
    How do "old games" differ?
     
  12. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,977
    Location:
    Brasil
    I think nothing non-malicious needs admin permissions to go full-screen.
     
  13. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    Old games differ because the XP era didn't care about process elevation. This has already been stated in the thread.
     
  14. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,977
    Location:
    Brasil
    Yeah, I wish I could run it without admin permissions. I opened it's properties and the check-box "run as administrator" is already uncheck.
     
  15. Pliskin

    Pliskin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Posts:
    341
    Did you try installing it in some custom folder (not "Program Files"), because if I remember that game saves its settings in its own folder so that's why it needs admin rights.
     
  16. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,977
    Location:
    Brasil
    @Pliskin The game was downloaded through Steam, and Steam's folders can be modified as we wish :) So the folder/location isn't the problem.

    I'm starting to think I'll run this game on a sandbox, just to make sure. It's my paranoia going into action again.
     
  17. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,126
    Like a keylogger? Like in a media player? How do you know it's not malicious?
    What hasn't been stated is that "modern games" may bring devious code inbred, and the process elevation is already there for the taking.
     
  18. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,977
    Location:
    Brasil
    I think I misspoke there.

    GTR2 is not malicious. What I said was, anything that is NOT malicious should NOT need admin permissions to go full-screen. Like GTR2, VLC, a Youtube Video, etc.

    I think a full-screen window is nothing more than a big regular window in front of the other windows and menus, that holds the mouse within it's borders.
     
Loading...