a few questions about drweb

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by lodore, Mar 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    hello,
    ok first off when i went to the drweb site and looked at the price i was so stunned £14 for one year license that is really cheap.

    is sipder gate in the lastest realased version of drweb?
    or is it still in beta?
    the version that i had installed on my windows ME pc didnt have the option to install spider gate so i wondered if it was still in beta or just not compatible with windows ME
    lodore
     
  2. Bob D

    Bob D Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    1,150
    Location:
    Mass., USA
    Don't overlook the 50% off migration discount!
     
  3. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    SpiderGate, Dr Web's HTTP scanner, is still in beta. See (here)
     
  4. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    I purchased a migration discount in Feb. still haven't activated it yet though.

    :)
     
  5. Bob D

    Bob D Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    1,150
    Location:
    Mass., USA
    Prudent move (in the case that the Dr. should someday repeal this offer).
    +/- $14.56 (7.50 GBP) is hard to beat.
     
  6. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    i have nothing to migrate from lol.
    kis6.0 will stay on this pc and drweb could have a place on the pc im building for myself soon.
    this pc will be the family pc and my pc will be just for me bulti by me
    lodore
     
  7. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    of course you have something to migrate from, any purchased licence, i.e kaspersky.

    they just need proof of purchase etc.
     
  8. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    but doesnt that mean i can no longer use kaspersky?
    lodore
     
  9. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    no lodore, i dont think so.

    dr.web dont cancel other av's licences, they just need to know your going to them from another AV.

    this is what ive always thought anyway ;)

    but dont quote me on it lodore, you should check 100% before deciding to do anything.
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2007
  10. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    so thats probaly means i can migrate the kaspersky license to dr web to get 50percent off and migrate acronis true image for shadow protect desktop for 50percent off that.
    dont worry chris i wont quote you on it i can always email drweb
    lodore
     
  11. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
  12. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    thanks chris.
    can you try and find the old thread that showed how to edit the drweb32.ini file to get the spider icon to show a popup when a threat is found?, also it showed the name of the threat and what it did with it.
    ok i asked the question
    lodore
     
  13. Badcompany

    Badcompany Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Posts:
    752
    Location:
    RUNCORN UK.
    Hi lodore,
    I migrated to Dr Web fron Kaspersky, just should proof of purchase.You will receive 50% discount, no problem.
    Badcompany.
     
  14. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    can you still use the kaspersky license?
    lodore
     
  15. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    if you want it to popup in the centre of screen with options > set your spiderguard settings to REPORT.

    if you want it all to do it automatically, set your preferences in spiderguard such as DELETE (viruses) / MOVE (suspicious) etc etc.

    and if you want little notification bubbles to come up when it does it automatically, right click the spider > control > notifications and tick those 3 boxes at the top.
     
  16. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    thanks i thought you had to edit the .ini file to get those little bubbles.
    the beta version had some problems on windows ME so im gonna install a release build.
    lodore
     
  17. Badcompany

    Badcompany Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Posts:
    752
    Location:
    RUNCORN UK.
    Yes no problem.
    BC.
     
  18. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    good thanks.
    ok heres a a random dr web question why is there no drweb entrie at wikopedia?
    surely someone must of wrote about it.

    hmm i was seeing what other antivirus companies where noted on wikiopedia since dr web wasnt.
    somone wrote about f-secure
    quote "
    F-Secure is historically related to FRISK Software International, a company based in Iceland, which publishes F-Prot antivirus. The original F-Prot conglomerate of Icelandic, Finnish and American computer antivirus researchers fell apart during the early 1990s and the resulting companies divided the global market. For a while, Data Fellows's product was marketed as "F-Prot Professional". As of 2006, the macro-virus detection capabilities of Frisk's F-Prot scan engine are still present in F-Secure products"
    i didnt know f-secure used to have there product called f-prot professinal and still uses f-prot macro detection engine
    lodore
     
  19. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    ok back to my main topic drweb.
    i couldnt find the notifications for drweb spider guard
    this screenshots shows the right click menu of the spider guard on windows ME.
    the second screenshots shows me putting a tick in the notifications box for spidermail. so i can find notifications for spider mail but not spider guard.
    lodore
     

    Attached Files:

  20. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
  21. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    nope it doesnt look famlier
    as it states "dr web for windows nt/2000/xp
    on windows ME it doesnt seem to have that option.
    it doesnt even have a manual load or unload button it just has a check box for load at startup on windows ME i will show you some screenies of the guard in windows ME.
    the nt/2000/xp version looks alot better than the version for windows 98/ME
    maybe the interface in windows ME put me off in the past.
    can you show me a screenshot of the spider mail options on your version to compare to the windows 98/ME version?
    lodore
     
  22. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    spidermail settings are exactly the same,

    have a look in control panel, for spiderguard. (it might be something in there on ME)

    if its there, that will be it, i cant check as i dont dare use windows ME.
     
  23. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    i dont blame you i hate windows ME.
    dont worry i will test dr web on windows 2k pro sometime this week hopefully.
    that will mean i wont have the mouse lagg thta plagues windows 98/ME
    lodore
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.