a few questions about Avira Free

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by _ab, Aug 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. _ab

    _ab Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Posts:
    74
    Hi, i´m using Avira (Antivir) since a few years, but some problems showed up recently. Maybe it is because i switched from W2K to XP, or because of using SSM or Comodo, which i both used not that long, but (in a restricted account in XP) the Antivir umbrella doesn´t show up anymore (avguard.exe is running in admin context, though, as process explorer shows) & when logging in as admin there´s always that message, saying that Antivir hasn´t be updated since at least 3 days, even if i actually udated 10 minutes ago.
     
  2. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    I ran Avira free with Comodo firewall on XP Home with no problems.
     
  3. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,442
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    Clearly something got broke. You think it might be a good idea to remove it and reinstall. Just one possible solution, others may have better ones. ;)
     
  4. _ab

    _ab Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Posts:
    74
    Yeah, i even reinstalled it a couple a times, no changes. But doesn´t the running avguard mean, that it´s actually working?
     
  5. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    You'd think so, but that doesn't necessarily guarantee that all is well. You might also try posting on the AntiVir forum as well...
     
  6. _ab

    _ab Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Posts:
    74
    hmm, maybe i should try that. It seems that this cannot be fixed by reinstalling.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.