A Few problems with L 'n' S

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by Jormungandr, Jan 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jormungandr

Jormungandr Registered Member

Hey,

I'm new to this firewall's way of working, and I'm just trying to get a few things figured out. I have a few questions so do bare with me a moment.

1. I set the firewall up as the stickied post suggested, but I'm confused as to a few things. In the post it shows the lan card as the network interface to be firewalled. Now I did this, but then I cannot connect to the internet (but if I connect first then place the firewall on, I can't do anything on the net, and the connected status in the welcome screen is not checked). The log shows up with the same entry:

Code:
    |D-169|01-03-07,19:47:40|All other packets|ETH|00:90:1A:A0:94:2F|Type Ethernet:8864
    2. Now with the first question, if I set it to the second: WAN miniport (IP). Everything seems to work, the log shows different 'attacks' that are blocked and the connected status is checked. I even performed a few test with it (port scanning and such). It all ran perfectly, it's just that sometimes my connection would go down and msn would log off and I couldn't load a website anymore. It would also block my bittorrent downloading. (I added the exception from looknstop's website, and configured the bittorrent on to the correct port).

3. I am although very happy with this firewall and hope to be able to fix these problems. I'm sure it is but my own fault. This firewall is small and it block much, perfect for a gamer as I.

Thank you in advance.

*edit: it seems my ip was correct, I accidentally re-connected to the internet, and I have a dynamic IP, sorry about the confusion.

**edit #2: Ok so I've determined that I should use the WAN miniport connection (I know know how stupid I was, it was on the main L n S site). As for the rest still a few problems.

~Jor

Last edited: Jan 3, 2007
  2. Frederic