A difficult question regarding tcpip stack

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Mrkvonic, Nov 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    9,238
    Hello,

    On one of my machines, recently I noticed that the Internet was going "slow". After reseting the network and winsock, things came back to life. I went through the netsh report I created and it mentioned bad values in the registry, pertaining to upper bind.

    I then, for good measured restored the image to an earlier date - a good exercise in Acronis, btw - and things were fine. So I went through the install of several applications that had changed since the image, namely AVG 7.5, Firefox 2.0 and strangely the newest version of CCleaner.

    I noticed that after I installed CCleaner and run a routine check at default setting that this change took place. I did two more image restorations, just to be sure. The result was the same.

    My questions are:
    Is it possible that CCleaner messes up the stack? Is this a coincidence?
    Or am I saying total nonsense here?
    Anyone else ever had a similar experience?

    Mrk
     
  2. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    9,238
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    64,329
    Location:
    Texas
    What exactly is corrupting the winsock?
     
  4. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    9,238
    Hello,

    Apparently, the error is not easily treceable or solvable.

    But after installing the new version of CCleaner (.407 I think), running a basic analyze and clean (temp files - not issues!) corrupts the winsock. I know this sounds weird. But I did step by step, reinstall the applications after image reconstruction, and the Internet connection would drop after running a routine check with CCleaner. Checked it twice.

    Several threads ongoing in CCleaner forum, linked from within the one I posted. They are fumbling in the dark. I'm sad and yet glad that I did have to discover this. I'll try to go deeper into it. If I have any smarter ideas, I'll keep you posted.

    Mrk
     
  5. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    4,224
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    I've seen these problems with cc before, many times. I tried it a long time ago. And I noticed the default settings were not safe. Seems things haven't changed. I have in the past & will continue to advise others to stay away from cc.
     
  6. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    9,238
    Hello,
    Well, I guess you're right.
    Mrk
     
  7. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    4,224
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    Well I'm glad you're sorted.

    I guess I'm resentful how cc is revered. People in forums I belong to, people I respect. Tout cc. I don't know why this bothers me. lol.

    I've always though cc is a pos app.
     
  8. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    9,238
    Hello,
    Never had problems with it - so I'll be careful with my words.
    But I will temporarily take it off the recommended list in my Windows collection.
    And I'll keep in investigating.
    Mrk
     
  9. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    I noticed that the latest ccleaner installed some toolbar without my permission.
    I cen see how the developer is making more decisions behind your back.
     
  10. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    64,329
    Location:
    Texas
    To be fair, on installation, the program asks you if you want to install the Yahoo toolbar.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. King FN Kong

    King FN Kong Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    134
  12. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,847
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi Mrk,

    Wow! That's scary!! I use the latest version of CCleaner all the time. What do you think the exact setting is that caused the problem? I do not use its 'registry cleaner' any advise on what to un-tick, would be great.

    If CCleaner is dangerous, anybody know of alternatives for this program?

    In the past I've used & just tried it again 'Privacy Guardian' they make Spyware Doctor; however, $29.95 + $19.95 annually for updates seems rather expensive, likewise Webroot's Windows Washer.

    Take Care
    rico
     
  13. Arup

    Arup Guest

    I use CC ever other day including Reg Cleaner part and so far no bad effect onTCP/IP stack yet.
     
  14. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    9,238
    Hello,
    Been using it for several years without adverse effects. But there's a first time for everything.
    Mrk
     
  15. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    3,016
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Hmm, I have all options checked, except deleting Index.dat, and I never had any problems.
    I never use backup in CCleaner, neither in RegSeeker, I allways set them to remove everything.

    However on Monday, I lost my net connection and when I started DHCP, I could not get an IP via DHCP, but I deleted some files from System32, so I am not sure, if it was due to CCleaner?!
     
  16. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    9,238
    Hello,
    Well, try what I did - restore a working image then did a simple cleanup with the latest version of CC - if you lose DHCP after that ...
    Mrk
     
  17. OldMX

    OldMX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Posts:
    170
    Been using CC from very early versions and never had an issue with it...your winsock issue sounds very bizarre
     
  18. Arup

    Arup Guest

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.