A difficult question regarding tcpip stack

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Mrkvonic, Nov 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
    Hello,

    On one of my machines, recently I noticed that the Internet was going "slow". After reseting the network and winsock, things came back to life. I went through the netsh report I created and it mentioned bad values in the registry, pertaining to upper bind.

    I then, for good measured restored the image to an earlier date - a good exercise in Acronis, btw - and things were fine. So I went through the install of several applications that had changed since the image, namely AVG 7.5, Firefox 2.0 and strangely the newest version of CCleaner.

    I noticed that after I installed CCleaner and run a routine check at default setting that this change took place. I did two more image restorations, just to be sure. The result was the same.

    My questions are:
    Is it possible that CCleaner messes up the stack? Is this a coincidence?
    Or am I saying total nonsense here?
    Anyone else ever had a similar experience?

    Mrk
     
  2. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,730
    Location:
    Texas
    What exactly is corrupting the winsock?
     
  4. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
    Hello,

    Apparently, the error is not easily treceable or solvable.

    But after installing the new version of CCleaner (.407 I think), running a basic analyze and clean (temp files - not issues!) corrupts the winsock. I know this sounds weird. But I did step by step, reinstall the applications after image reconstruction, and the Internet connection would drop after running a routine check with CCleaner. Checked it twice.

    Several threads ongoing in CCleaner forum, linked from within the one I posted. They are fumbling in the dark. I'm sad and yet glad that I did have to discover this. I'll try to go deeper into it. If I have any smarter ideas, I'll keep you posted.

    Mrk
     
  5. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    I've seen these problems with cc before, many times. I tried it a long time ago. And I noticed the default settings were not safe. Seems things haven't changed. I have in the past & will continue to advise others to stay away from cc.
     
  6. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
    Hello,
    Well, I guess you're right.
    Mrk
     
  7. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Well I'm glad you're sorted.

    I guess I'm resentful how cc is revered. People in forums I belong to, people I respect. Tout cc. I don't know why this bothers me. lol.

    I've always though cc is a pos app.
     
  8. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
    Hello,
    Never had problems with it - so I'll be careful with my words.
    But I will temporarily take it off the recommended list in my Windows collection.
    And I'll keep in investigating.
    Mrk
     
  9. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    I noticed that the latest ccleaner installed some toolbar without my permission.
    I cen see how the developer is making more decisions behind your back.
     
  10. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,730
    Location:
    Texas
    To be fair, on installation, the program asks you if you want to install the Yahoo toolbar.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. King FN Kong

    King FN Kong Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    134
  12. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,697
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi Mrk,

    Wow! That's scary!! I use the latest version of CCleaner all the time. What do you think the exact setting is that caused the problem? I do not use its 'registry cleaner' any advise on what to un-tick, would be great.

    If CCleaner is dangerous, anybody know of alternatives for this program?

    In the past I've used & just tried it again 'Privacy Guardian' they make Spyware Doctor; however, $29.95 + $19.95 annually for updates seems rather expensive, likewise Webroot's Windows Washer.

    Take Care
    rico
     
  13. Arup

    Arup Guest

    I use CC ever other day including Reg Cleaner part and so far no bad effect onTCP/IP stack yet.
     
  14. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
    Hello,
    Been using it for several years without adverse effects. But there's a first time for everything.
    Mrk
     
  15. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Hmm, I have all options checked, except deleting Index.dat, and I never had any problems.
    I never use backup in CCleaner, neither in RegSeeker, I allways set them to remove everything.

    However on Monday, I lost my net connection and when I started DHCP, I could not get an IP via DHCP, but I deleted some files from System32, so I am not sure, if it was due to CCleaner?!
     
  16. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
    Hello,
    Well, try what I did - restore a working image then did a simple cleanup with the latest version of CC - if you lose DHCP after that ...
    Mrk
     
  17. OldMX

    OldMX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Posts:
    170
    Been using CC from very early versions and never had an issue with it...your winsock issue sounds very bizarre
     
  18. Arup

    Arup Guest

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.