826 or 859

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by tronic592001, Jun 16, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tronic592001

    tronic592001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Posts:
    164
    Location:
    Wales uk
    sood i stay with build 859 or 826


    if i go back to 826 can i install over 859

    :rolleyes:
     
  2. Rik Bean

    Rik Bean Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Posts:
    80
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, UK
    I reverted to 826, 859 is too crippled for me to use in earnest. In my case, I just used System Restore to go back.
     
  3. tronic592001

    tronic592001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Posts:
    164
    Location:
    Wales uk
    Rik Bean thanks for reply
    Cant go back that far with my system restore, but ether i uninstall 859
    which would be safer or over write with 826 and take a chance.

    I think the over write is if your upgradeing from a lower build. not sure!!!

    Anyway im happy so far with acronis true image its just what ive been reading on this fourum about 859............................

    :cool:
     
  4. Rik Bean

    Rik Bean Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Posts:
    80
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, UK
    I'd tend to uninstall and then re-install going backwards. As you say, it's much easier upgrading.

    If you're happy with 859, stick with it. I am not, because I can no longer explore my images correctly - and I regard that as a vital security measure in testing that they are good. It's a bit late discovering a bad image when you need it, and I'm very disappointed with Acronis for letting such an obvious bug out - it doesn't say much for their testing procedures.
     
  5. djmorgan

    djmorgan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Posts:
    167
    Try and mount a drive from your backup and find a file that works! can't be done with 859!
     
  6. rjbsec

    rjbsec Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Posts:
    132
    I uninstalled 859 and re-installed 826.
     
  7. mark7

    mark7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Posts:
    110
    Best result is to uninstall build 859 from Control Panel > Add/Remove programs, *reboot*, and then install 826. Required for some, others have had success just doing a Repair/"Upgrade" of 826 over 859.

    859 image is OK, it's only the 859 mounter that is faulty. See this post today by Acronis: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=486946&postcount=1
     
  8. Fedorov999

    Fedorov999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Posts:
    182
    Well I restored 826 over 859 and if I restore ANY file from a mounted drive they are still all corrupt so going to do a full uninstall/reinstall of 826, 859 seems to goose something badly!

    Fedorov.
     
  9. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Yes, uninstalling 859 before installing 826 is definitely the way to go. There are some 859 files that aren't always overwritten by the older versions if you just use the Repair/Upgrade option. After uninstalling 859, and during the 826 install, you will be prompted to overwrite the newer files. Just select "Yes" and all will be well.

    Regards
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.